Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 beta is now available.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We're excited to be bringing you the newest Unity features, news, demos, and we've even got some special guests from some of the industry’s most storied franchises. Set a reminder to tune in on YouTube here
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Unity 2018.3 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Package Manager missing from Window menu

Discussion in 'Package Manager' started by Abusers, Jan 10, 2019.

  1. Abusers

    Abusers

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    So... I recently had to update my unity from 2018.2.2 to 2018.3.0 and now I can't even run my game because it says TMPro namespace can't be found.

    I did bit of digging around and I don't know if I'm on the right track for it... but I am highly suspicious of Package Manager being missing from Window menu.

    Whats funny is if I start the project in 2018.2.2 and restart the project in 2018.3.0, Package Manager is IN the Window menu, though all I get from it is an empty window which I can't do anything with.
    And when I restart the project again with 2018.3.0, Package Manager is gone from the menu again...

    I've been trying alot of stuffs like changing Packages/manifest.json, resetting my packages to defaults, deleting this and thats... but none seem to work for me.

    Anyone know how to solve this? (other than creating new project...)
     
  2. okcompute_unity

    okcompute_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    361
    Hi @Abusers,

    This is usually caused by an incompatible version of a package with your current Unity version. This is not supposed to happen. The project upgrade system should have bumped packages to a compatible version. In 2018.3, I believe TextMeshPro minimum compatible version is *1.3.0*. Can you open the file <project path>/Packages/manifest.json and manually update TextMeshPro version?

    Regards,

    Pascal
     
  3. Abusers

    Abusers

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    Hi @okcompute_unity
    thanks for replying!!

    I've tried what you said, but it didn't work. TextMeshPro version was already 1.3.0 in manifest.json. Even when I tried to manually set the TextMeshPro to lower version, and then set it back to 1.3.0, nothing changed.

    Other threads mentioned deleting or changing the version of package-manager-ui in manifest.json might help, but didn't work for me.

    Also, in addition to the problems that I wrote, collab button is not shown in 2018.3.0 for some reason. When I start the project in 2018.2.2, and restart with 2018.3.0, collab button in shown. Just like Package Manager, collab button disappears again when project is restarted with 2018.3.0.

    Do you think these two problems are related?
     
  4. okcompute_unity

    okcompute_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    361
  5. FallenTreeGames

    FallenTreeGames

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Posts:
    24
    I'm getting the same issue, did you manage to find any more information?
     
  6. pedro_unity

    pedro_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    156
  7. Abusers

    Abusers

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    @okcompute_unity
    Here are the log files you requested. Thanks for checking them out!

    @FallenTreeGames
    No, I couldn't find much more information yet...I'd be grateful if you could also share anything related to this matter
     

    Attached Files:

  8. okcompute_unity

    okcompute_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    361
    Looking at the logs, I see a UIElement error at the end. This is usually caused by a project that was not properly updated. And I don't see any *package manager update process* log. So this project was already updated to 2018.3. Do you know from which Unity version this project is coming from? In other words, you need to figure out who updated this project to 2018.3 and what they possibly did wrong to get incompatible package dependencies.

    Regards,

    Pascal
     
  9. okcompute_unity

    okcompute_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    361
    And it seems you have a strange name in your log:
    com.unity.package-manager-uikage-manager-ui


    Did you implement a custom version of the Package Manager UI package?
     
  10. Abusers

    Abusers

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    @okcompute_unity
    Thanks for the check!!!

    The project was originally made with unity version before 2018.3 and was updated to 2018.3 by someone other than me. The project is working fine on his PC, and its working fine on my PC as well when I downloaded it from collab... its just that its not working properly on my Mac...

    And about this 'com.unity.package-manager-uikage-manager-ui' dependency name... I found this happening from time to time usually after I manually change manifest.json. It's not a custom version of Package Manager, you probably see that 'kage-manager-ui' part of 'com.unity.package-manager-ui' is added to the end of the whole 'com.unity.package-manager-ui'...I don't know why this is happening but I've seen dependency names like 'com.unity.package-manager-uikage-manager-uikage-manager-ui' before.

    Another news that I want to share with you is that the Package Manager problem has been solved!... my co-worker changed the none english project folder name to english, and after re-downloading the whole project again... both Package Manager and collab button is now showing and working...
    Yeah... though the problem is solved... I still want to figure out why its all fixed now. Is changing the the folder name to english really is the solution to this problem? Or does it really do have any kinda effect on fixing this?...
     
  11. okcompute_unity

    okcompute_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    361
    Great news and great feedback! :) I'll make sure that our QA teams try to repro your issue with a non-English folder name.

    Thank you,

    Pascal
     
    Abusers likes this.
  12. FallenTreeGames

    FallenTreeGames

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Posts:
    24
    In our case the issue was a compile error caused by a 3rdParty lib implementing a MinAttirbute (and associated editor). Apparently 2018.3 has it's own MinAttribute and the things collided. This compile error stopped the upgrade from happening correctly (but wasn't initially reported for some reasons). Once this error was fixed and the re-import ran again we no longer have these issues
     
    Abusers likes this.
  13. pedro_unity

    pedro_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    156
    @FallenTreeGames, Glad to hear that the problem was found.
    @Abusers, Thanks for reporting. We think we know what this issue is and are investigating.

    Cheers all,
    Pedro
    Unity STE
     
    Abusers likes this.