Search Unity

Package Manager Is Missing

Discussion in 'Package Manager' started by daniel_7866, Sep 19, 2018.

  1. vinnie-vivace

    vinnie-vivace

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Posts:
    35
    damn this is painful. Tried all the tricks. I had to reboot also. Latest hub, latest Win 10.
     
    tarahugger likes this.
  2. peruwiadomo

    peruwiadomo

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Posts:
    14
    Same here just upgrade from 2018 to 2019 and all my projects are broken with no access to package manager
     
  3. TrueJollyRoger

    TrueJollyRoger

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    Okay. After few futile attempts I finally got package manager back.
    It looks like it depends on your current situation and something that worked for me may not work for others and visa versa.
    My case:
    Upgrade from 2018 to 2019 for an old project.
    Package Manager gone and console explode with 96 errors about PM.

    Deleting Library and all content of Packages folders, however it took 2 attempts.
     
  4. daniel_lochner

    daniel_lochner

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Posts:
    9
    This worked for me, thanks! :)
     
  5. bbyford

    bbyford

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    this worked for me having a similar issue - no package manager And missing unity packages. Thank you!

    -> Help / reset packages to default
     
    cgrow67 likes this.
  6. kokimoki

    kokimoki

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    +1 ,... worked for me ,...
     
  7. Awkin

    Awkin

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    How did you go about doing this? What did you unblock in the firewall for example?
     
  8. Lynxed

    Lynxed

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Posts:
    29
    2019.1 package manager does not show preview packages. How do i turn them on?
     
  9. Ophtalmic

    Ophtalmic

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Posts:
    9
    Open package manager window, click advanced button(on top left) and choose : "Show preview packages".
     
  10. shane-icelander

    shane-icelander

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    I had the same issue after I started a new project. I traced it down to a problem with the path of the location of the project being too long. I had copied a project from one location to another and the new location was several folders deep. I will report that as a possible bug. Once I moved the project to a top level location the package manager showed up and worked properly. I noticed that when I was deleting the folders located in PackageCache under the Library folder (\Library\PackageCache), and tried to copy the files from another working project that was newly created, and not several nested folder down, I was getting an error stating the destination path was too long. That is what led me to discover the path issue. I was using Unity 2018.3.8f1 and Windows 10.
     
  11. pitibonom

    pitibonom

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Posts:
    169
    2018.3.xx ---> 2019.bleh.S***

    ahahahah 217 errors !
    TMP
    shadergraph
    errr.... don't remember the others....

    all errors due to S***ty addons badly integrated !
    seriouly, U3D team....

    hopefully unity has become free !

    Anyway i stay a U3D lover. but stayin on my 2018 version.

    ah... also...

    No way i waste time submitting bugrep or anything because of uncompetencies ;)
    so plz don't ask :)

    Happy unitying !
     
    cgrow67 likes this.
  12. dienat

    dienat

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Posts:
    278
    I installed Unity 2019.1 and still doesnt show package manager, i tried to delete Packages folder, also "Reset packages to default", restarting Unity but nothing works. The manifestjson shows just this
    "
    {
    "dependencies": {}
    }
    "
     
  13. ScottHerz

    ScottHerz

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    19
    Same. Decided to give 2019 a go. I needed to add the OpenVR stuff and there was no package manager window to do so :(
     
  14. kilik128

    kilik128

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Posts:
    810
    got this

    ArgumentException: Can not deserialize (UnityEditor.ShaderGraph.VoronoiNode), type is invalid
    UnityEditor.Graphing.SerializationHelper.Deserialize[T] (UnityEditor.Graphing.SerializationHelper+JSONSerializedElement item, System.Collections.Generic.Dictionary`2[TKey,TValue] remapper, System.Object[] constructorArgs) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.shadergraph@6.5.3/Editor/Data/Util/SerializationHelper.cs:103)
    UnityEditor.Graphing.SerializationHelper.Deserialize[T] (System.Collections.Generic.IEnumerable`1[T] list, System.Collections.Generic.Dictionary`2[TKey,TValue] remapper, System.Object[] constructorArgs) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.shadergraph@6.5.3/Editor/Data/Util/SerializationHelper.cs:153)
    UnityEditor.Experimental.AssetImporters.ScriptedImporter:GenerateAssetData(AssetImportContext)


    {
    "m_GuidSerialized": "e5a5a46e-1527-4157-b887-13d73e74387f",
    "m_Name": "Voronoi",
    "m_DrawState": {
    "m_Expanded": true,
    "m_Position": {
    "serializedVersion": "2",
    "x": -2381.567138671875,
    "y": -1728.0235595703125,
    "width": 208.0,
    "height": 326.0
    }
    },
    "m_SerializableSlots": [
    {
    "typeInfo": {
    "fullName": "UnityEditor.ShaderGraph.UVMaterialSlot"
    },
    "JSONnodeData": "{\n \"m_Id\": 0,\n \"m_DisplayName\": \"UV\",\n \"m_SlotType\": 0,\n \"m_Priority\": 2147483647,\n \"m_Hidden\": false,\n \"m_ShaderOutputName\": \"UV\",\n \"m_StageCapability\": 3,\n \"m_Value\": {\n \"x\": 0.0,\n \"y\": 0.0\n },\n \"m_DefaultValue\": {\n \"x\": 0.0,\n \"y\": 0.0\n },\n \"m_Labels\": [\n \"X\",\n \"Y\"\n ],\n \"m_Channel\": 0\n}"
    },
    {
    "typeInfo": {
    "fullName": "UnityEditor.ShaderGraph.Vector1MaterialSlot"
    },
    "JSONnodeData": "{\n \"m_Id\": 1,\n \"m_DisplayName\": \"Angle Offset\",\n \"m_SlotType\": 0,\n \"m_Priority\": 2147483647,\n \"m_Hidden\": false,\n \"m_ShaderOutputName\": \"AngleOffset\",\n \"m_StageCapability\": 3,\n \"m_Value\": -2.6700000762939455,\n \"m_DefaultValue\": 2.0,\n \"m_Labels\": [\n \"X\"\n ]\n}"
    },
    {
    "typeInfo": {
    "fullName": "UnityEditor.ShaderGraph.Vector1MaterialSlot"
    },
    "JSONnodeData": "{\n \"m_Id\": 2,\n \"m_DisplayName\": \"Cell Density\",\n \"m_SlotType\": 0,\n \"m_Priority\": 2147483647,\n \"m_Hidden\": false,\n \"m_ShaderOutputName\": \"CellDensity\",\n \"m_StageCapability\": 3,\n \"m_Value\": 6.0,\n \"m_DefaultValue\": 5.0,\n \"m_Labels\": [\n \"X\"\n ]\n}"
    },
    {
    "typeInfo": {
    "fullName": "UnityEditor.ShaderGraph.Vector1MaterialSlot"
    },
    "JSONnodeData": "{\n \"m_Id\": 3,\n \"m_DisplayName\": \"Out\",\n \"m_SlotType\": 1,\n \"m_Priority\": 2147483647,\n \"m_Hidden\": false,\n \"m_ShaderOutputName\": \"Out\",\n \"m_StageCapability\": 3,\n \"m_Value\": 0.0,\n \"m_DefaultValue\": 0.0,\n \"m_Labels\": [\n \"X\"\n ]\n}"
    },
    {
    "typeInfo": {
    "fullName": "UnityEditor.ShaderGraph.Vector1MaterialSlot"
    },
    "JSONnodeData": "{\n \"m_Id\": 4,\n \"m_DisplayName\": \"Cells\",\n \"m_SlotType\": 1,\n \"m_Priority\": 2147483647,\n \"m_Hidden\": false,\n \"m_ShaderOutputName\": \"Cells\",\n \"m_StageCapability\": 3,\n \"m_Value\": 0.0,\n \"m_DefaultValue\": 0.0,\n \"m_Labels\": [\n \"X\"\n ]\n}"
    }
    ],
    "m_PreviewExpanded": true
    }
    UnityEditor.Experimental.AssetImporters.ScriptedImporter:GenerateAssetData(AssetImportContext)
     
  15. kilik128

    kilik128

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Posts:
    810
    i want troll wake up unity !
     
  16. _watcher_

    _watcher_

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Posts:
    112
    I have the same problem. Clicking "show preview packages" in U19.1.1f1 Package Manager (2.1.2) does not list (any new) packages (tested in fresh LWRP project, logged in).

    My project location is short enough. Turning off firewall didn't work for me. No other solutions here worked for me. My other (older) project does show packages properly. Something to do with servers? (but then why only new project has this problem?)
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2019
  17. _watcher_

    _watcher_

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Posts:
    112
    All right Scott, and others, i figured the PackageManager doesnt work in certain unspecified cases (UnityHub 2.0 recent update?), notably i can see it not displaying packages in new LWRP 19.1.1f1 project at all for me. However in some of my older projects, it works fine. Im sure this will be fixed soon, but..

    That's why I'll compile for you an up-to-date manifest.json file including all packages, so you can update your desired package "up to date" manually. Ill update this post shortly.

    EDIT:
    @all: thats a LOT of packages! dont think ill have time to install all of them. If you have a particular package you need to add into your manifest.json to test but cant get it, let me know, ill drop you the line you need to add (including dependencies if any)

    @ScottHerz "com.unity.xr.openvr.standalone": "1.0.5",
    OpenVR has no dependencies.

    Youll find manifest.json in your "{ProjectName}\Unity\Packages\" folder. An example of how you'd add that line, so that Unity includes your package, is here. Unity re-downloads and recompiles packages automatically based on what you have in that file.

    EDIT: You might wanna grab the package (or get the name) from staging instead, rather than ask for it here (but be careful, some of the packages there are different than what you'd get up-to-date from PackageManager x)
    https://bintray.com/unity/unity-staging/
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2019
    ScottHerz likes this.
  18. lawura

    lawura

    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    I want to share my experience on same issue. Unity 2018.3.of2, installed with Visual Studio 2017 Community.
    Steps:
    1) Used unity package manager to install VectorGraphics 1.0.0. package
    2) Imported vector graphics
    3) Compiled
    4) downloaded MySql libraries + dependences via visual Studio Nugget Package manager
    5) Installed MySql libraries to unity project as plugins
    6) restarted unity
    7) changed folder of a vecor graphics file
    => 8) vector graphics package stopped working and accepting SVG files as valid sprites, package manager in unity missing
    9) deleted packages.xml file created by visual studio when installing libraries via Nugget
    10) Restart unity => package manager is back, as well, as functionality of vector graphics
     
  19. riccireyes

    riccireyes

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Unity 2019.1.3f1, Unity Hub 2.0.0, Learn -> Resources -> Interactive 360 Sample Project. No joy. Attaching Editor.log. Please help. Thank you.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. trappist-1

    trappist-1

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Posts:
    453
    Noting here is working, my project just suddenly became corrupt.
     
  21. benoitv_unity

    benoitv_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Posts:
    40
    @riccireyes

    I did get some errors when first opening the sample. But if I save the project, quit Unity and re-open the project, the errors go away. This a known issue when upgrading a project from an older version of Unity and that sample project was most created with an older version.

    I know it is not ideal but at least there is workaround.
     
  22. halley

    halley

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Posts:
    690
    Hub is a disaster. Can't run a project because of 60 TextMeshPro errors, can't update TMP because there's no package manager, and I am not giving anything passwordless admin rights after the original installer finishes. And now Hub is required to access the Asset Store.
     
    cgrow67 likes this.
  23. Qbit86

    Qbit86

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Posts:
    409
    Same issue.

    I'm migrating large old project from Unity 2017.4.22f1 to 2018.4.1f1, expecting pile of errors. The first one:
    Code (csharp):
    1. Assets/Standard Assets/ParticleSystems/Scripts/SmokeParticles.cs(9,16): error CS1070: The type `UnityEngine.AudioClip' has been forwarded to an assembly that is not referenced. Enable the built in package 'Audio' in the Package Manager window to fix this error.
    So I go to Window menu — but Package Manager is missing!
     
    cgrow67 likes this.
  24. cgrow67

    cgrow67

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    Yup, exactly the same thing.. TextMeshPro errors all over and I can't fix them because no package manager.
    I'm erasing stuff left and right hoping Git will save me..
    Maybe it's time to change computers..
     
  25. cgrow67

    cgrow67

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    Why is it that everything else shows up on the menu. However, the one item that controls my ability to compile code is missing??
     
  26. cgrow67

    cgrow67

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    Holly !@#$%... Unity 2018.4.1f1 blew the folder code folder away and still failing.. removed Packages, Library and cache folder under AppData\Local.. etc.. Then I started going backwards with Unity versions.. Unity 2018.4.0f1 worked and TMPro was found right away without needing package manager. Package manager is back on the menu. This is an epic fail release! I just thank god something worked and for Git to give me a safe code base.
     
    Qbit86 and halley like this.
  27. idmirenmehdi

    idmirenmehdi

    Joined:
    May 27, 2019
    Posts:
    1
     
  28. ParyPro

    ParyPro

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Posts:
    3