Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Package Manager forever "Loading packages ..."

Discussion in 'Package Manager' started by Scotchee, Jan 30, 2019.

  1. Mirazul-Kabir-Bhuiyan

    Mirazul-Kabir-Bhuiyan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I am facing the same issue with 2019.1.2f1. I ran the diagnosis on my windows. Attaching the report below. Package manager working nicely with 2018.2.21f1 though.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 16, 2019
  2. UNCLEPOW

    UNCLEPOW

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Hi unity technology guys!
    Same problem from China!
    The 2018.2 version works well, but the 2018.3 version demonstrates package loading all the time, even if I shut down the firewall!
    The diag reports are as below.
    I've run for two times, it seems the results are same as each other.
    Hope this can help u guys, and u can fix this problem as soon as possible.
    It's 3:10 am in China, and it's time to go to sleep!

    Besides, I hope you can pay attention to Chinese users, I swear that China has the largest number of users. Hope u can release the Chinese version of the docs or something else.
    Thank you!
     

    Attached Files:

    The_Light_of_Star likes this.
  3. okcompute_unity

    okcompute_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    607
    @Mirazul-Kabir-Bhuiyan and @UNCLEPOW . The diag reports you provided is really helpful. I have shared the info and error reported with our backend team in *China*.

    I'm really sorry to read you feel that way. Unity is strongly invested in China. One of our main offices is located in Shanghai! For the Chinese localization of our documentation, I believe we are actively working on it. Let me check and come back to you.

    Regards,

    Pascal
     
  4. GamerXP

    GamerXP

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Posts:
    20
    Did run the script as well. Unity was loading packages infinitely in the background
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Andeton

    Andeton

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    I am in the 2019.1.0f2 version I was having the same problem, after deleting the Packages \ manifest.json file, shutting down the firewall and reopening the Unity everything returned to normal
     
  6. UNCLEPOW

    UNCLEPOW

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Delete the .json file? Is that always working? I'm gonna try it right away
    And where u from buddy?
     
  7. okcompute_unity

    okcompute_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    607
    Thanks for reporting. This will help us target the issue! (eg. You have a great network connection but still having the loading issue).

    Pascal
     
  8. Andeton

    Andeton

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    I always work with myself and I'm in Brazil
     
  9. far20shid

    far20shid

    Joined:
    May 15, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Using 2019.1.3f1 & 2018.3.6f1, both having the package manager forever loading issue.
    Attaching the report.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. nour-s

    nour-s

    Joined:
    May 30, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Same issue here.
    I'm located in UAE

    I used the version
    2019.1
    all minor versions. I run it on Windows 10 (Insider) updated to the latest.
    Disabling the LAN network, made it work.

    Here is the report:

    Code (JavaScript):
    1. 5 out of 6 checks passed:
    2. [
    3.   {
    4.     "name": "UPM registry reachable",
    5.     "description": "Make an HTTP request to the UPM package registry",
    6.     "result": "PASS",
    7.     "detail": "HTTP/1.1 200 OK\nServer: nginx\nDate: Mon, 27 May 2019 19:00:24 GMT\nConnection: close"
    8.   },
    9.   {
    10.     "name": "Ping UPM registry",
    11.     "description": "Measure the latency of the UPM package registry API",
    12.     "result": "PASS",
    13.     "detail": "11 pings made in 5.067 seconds\nAverage latency: 230.14 ms\nMinimum latency: 221.80 ms\nMaximum latency: 239.58 ms\nStandard deviation: 4.73"
    14.   },
    15.   {
    16.     "name": "Ping UPM download",
    17.     "description": "Measure the latency of the UPM package download endpoint",
    18.     "result": "WARNING",
    19.     "detail": "3 pings made in 5.292 seconds\nAverage latency: 305.67 ms\nMinimum latency: 301.04 ms\nMaximum latency: 314.61 ms\nStandard deviation: 7.75"
    20.   },
    21.   {
    22.     "name": "UPM registry download speed",
    23.     "description": "Test the Internet connection using the UPM package registry",
    24.     "result": "PASS",
    25.     "detail": "Measured speed to the UPM registry: 7.01 Megabits per second"
    26.   },
    27.   {
    28.     "name": "Speedtest.net",
    29.     "description": "Test the Internet connection using Speedtest.net",
    30.     "result": "PASS",
    31.     "detail": "Measured speed to the Speedtest.net server: 12.44 Megabits per second"
    32.   },
    33.   {
    34.     "name": "HTTP proxy environment variables",
    35.     "description": "Detect whether proxy-related environment variables are set (HTTP_PROXY, HTTPS_PROXY, ALL_PROXY, NO_PROXY, UNITY_PROXYSERVER, UNITY_NOPROXY)",
    36.     "result": "PASS",
    37.     "detail": "No proxy support has been configured through environment variables."
    38.   }
    39. ]
     

    Attached Files:

  11. benoitv_unity

    benoitv_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Posts:
    40
    @far20shid @nour-s

    Could you please try running the attached script? It will create a "Test Upm Search" menu in the toolbar. "Search All Packages" emulates what the Package Manager Window does.

    "Search One Package" makes individual requests on packages. That operation will go on until you hit the "Cancel" button.

    Both operations will output data in the console. This information should help us find where the problem lies.

    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  12. gamefish

    gamefish

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    11
    same problem here in China in 2019.1.1f1, got it to work after setting HTTP proxy for unity hub.
    My guess is that this is a network connection problem. Unity package manager is a command line tool so it won't work with the global mode of my proxy software.
     
  13. nour-s

    nour-s

    Joined:
    May 30, 2017
    Posts:
    3

    Search All Packages took ages and never finished, and I had to cancel it after almost 7 minutes.
    Cancelled after 437.3064121 seconds

    Search One Package:
    Completed 169 requests in 690.1666702 seconds

    Also not sure if this is helpful, but I tried pinging few of the domains that are accessed by Unity:

    Here are the results:
    Code (Boo):
    1.  
    2. Pinging bintray.com [75.126.118.184] with 32 bytes of data:
    3. Request timed out.
    4. Request timed out.
    5. Request timed out.
    6. Request timed out.
    7.  
    8. Ping statistics for 75.126.118.184:
    9.     Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
    10.  
    11. C:\Users\Nour>ping download.packages.unity.com
    12.  
    13. Pinging dl.bintray.com [52.24.57.79] with 32 bytes of data:
    14. Request timed out.
    15. Request timed out.
    16. Request timed out.
    17. Request timed out.
    18.  
    19. Ping statistics for 52.24.57.79:
    20.     Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
    21.  
    22. C:\Users\Nour>ping dl.bintray.com
    23.  
    24. Pinging dl.bintray.com [52.24.57.79] with 32 bytes of data:
    25. Request timed out.
    26. Request timed out.
    27. Request timed out.
    28. Request timed out.
    29.  
    30. Ping statistics for 52.24.57.79:
    31.     Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
    32.  
    33. C:\Users\Nour>ping api.bintray.com
    34.  
    35. Pinging bintray.com [75.126.118.184] with 32 bytes of data:
    36. Request timed out.
    37. Request timed out.
    38. Request timed out.
    39. Request timed out.
    40.  
    41. Ping statistics for 75.126.118.184:
    42.     Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
    43.  
    44. C:\Users\Nour>ping akamai.bintray.com
    45.  
    46. Pinging e10390.b.akamaiedge.net [23.208.212.128] with 32 bytes of data:
    47. Reply from 23.208.212.128: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=60
    48. Reply from 23.208.212.128: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=60
    49. Reply from 23.208.212.128: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=60
    50. Reply from 23.208.212.128: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=60
    51.  
    52. Ping statistics for 23.208.212.128:
    53.     Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    54. Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    55.     Minimum = 4ms, Maximum = 5ms, Average = 4ms
    56.  
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2019
  14. Abdulrazek

    Abdulrazek

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    its a network problem, if anything forcing your network IP to change it will stop the package manager job!
     
  15. ulugeyik

    ulugeyik

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2018
    Posts:
    9
  16. nour-s

    nour-s

    Joined:
    May 30, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    @benoitv_unity any update?

     
  17. MumboChuChu

    MumboChuChu

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    Sending the Diagnostic and what I assume is the normal UPM log created when you make a pull with the UPM per se. Something funny I noticed is that it's throwing an error while searching for compatibility with version 2018.3.2018.3.4f1 which doesn't exist.
    Unity: 2019.1.0f2
    OS : MacOS Mojave 10.14.3 (18D109) Macbook Pro (15-inch, 2017)
    From Puerto Rico
     

    Attached Files:

  18. jamie2dog

    jamie2dog

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    can't open sprite editor in unity 2019.3, says to download 2D Sprite package from package manager, i try to do this and its not in package manager, also package manager just loads all the time. having to revert back to unity 2018
     
  19. benoitv_unity

    benoitv_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Posts:
    40
    @nour-s,

    It seems we have found the root cause of the problem. We're working on a fix and plan to release it for both 2018 LTS and 2019.2, stay tuned!
     
    jamie2dog and Diogen_usual_dog like this.
  20. GregoryFenn

    GregoryFenn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Posts:
    26
    Unity 2019.1.7f1 [Windows 10, up-to-date build]. My Package Manager loads for 20 seconds then stops, and doesn't show any more packages to add. I have tried ticking "Show Preview Packages" and "Show Dependencies" on and off. All that I see are the half-dozen packages I set up before, but none of the other packages that I should be able to optionally apply to my project. This occurs a lot and it's just luck whether or not it works.
     
  21. shiranova

    shiranova

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I have the same problem with 2019.1.9f1
     
  22. rob_vld

    rob_vld

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Posts:
    158

    compared my list to others and it seems like i am not getting all the packages....
    tried all kind of recommendations made from discord.... removed folders, reinstalled latest version of unity, same result

    could this be at your end?

    Thanks.
     
  23. okcompute_unity

    okcompute_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    607
    @rob_vld, did you enable *preview* packages in the *Advanced* menu:

    Screen Shot 2019-07-19 at 4.58.24 PM.png
    Regards,

    Pascal
     
  24. rob_vld

    rob_vld

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Posts:
    158
    Thank you for your reply.... i gave it some more time and tried some more suggestions, but things have not changed...

    This is what i am getting on most of my projects, the content appears to change now and then, i am uncertain...
    Others seem to be getting a lot more items?

    upload_2019-7-22_12-30-25.png
     
  25. okcompute_unity

    okcompute_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    607
  26. rob_vld

    rob_vld

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Posts:
    158

    Attached Files:

  27. okcompute_unity

    okcompute_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    607
    I see lots of strange errors related to Package Manager UI in the logs. It could be related to your issue. I'm downloading the same version you are using right now to test it out on my end. I'll let you know.

    Pascal
     
  28. rob_vld

    rob_vld

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Posts:
    158
    note that i started noticing this with 2018.4.4f1

    at some point i completely uninstalled unity and removed as many unity related folders i could find across my system including the ones in my project, then i installed the newest unity version
     
  29. okcompute_unity

    okcompute_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    607
    I just installed 2019.1.10f1 and created a new project. I don't have the same error you have. Is this a new project that was created with 2019.1.10f1 or updated from a previous version? Can you try with a new project? Do you have the same issue?
     
  30. rob_vld

    rob_vld

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Posts:
    158

    all projects i have have these issues, including new ones
     
  31. okcompute_unity

    okcompute_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    607
    Just to be sure. Can you share an *editor.log* file from a new empty project created with 2019.1.10f1?
     
  32. rob_vld

    rob_vld

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Posts:
    158
    here you go
     

    Attached Files:

  33. okcompute_unity

    okcompute_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    607
    There are no errors in this log file. Your project looks to be correct. Same number of packages and matching versionas I'm seeing in my new project. When you open the Package Manager UI, you still have errors?
     
  34. rob_vld

    rob_vld

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Posts:
    158
    well, i never get any errors(in the editor), i just dont seem to get the full list of packages
     
  35. okcompute_unity

    okcompute_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    607
    We had a bug that we fixed in 2019.3 alpha cycle. Maybe this could be this bug affecting you here. The next alpha/beta release should include the bug fix. Would you mind testing it when it gets out? The only other reason for this to happen would be connectivity issues. But I don't see anything related in your logs. So I'm a bit at lost :(
     
  36. rob_vld

    rob_vld

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Posts:
    158
    sure, its not a big problem for me... appreciate all your investigation time... :)
     
  37. yuriythebest

    yuriythebest

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Posts:
    1,011
    it's so weird - I'm using unity 2018.3.3, it had the same issue
    I connected the ethernet cable ( it used to be over wifi), and it works now
     
  38. ilovecleveranime

    ilovecleveranime

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I had same problem in Unity 2019.1.11f1 . But TestUpmSearch.cs helped. I clicked "Search All Packages" and after 80 secs (see console log on pic) packages list updated.
    upload_2019-7-23_23-32-53.png
    I tryed to install 2d sprite shape but get an error (see console log on pic) and tryed one more time and it worked and i update package list again by "Search All Packages".
    After reopening project i have endless loading packages (see another pic)
    upload_2019-7-23_23-32-12.png

    When i tryed "Search All Packages" i wait 612 (when do invent caps lock for digits?) secs
    upload_2019-7-23_23-49-7.png

    Then i reopened angain and open package manager and wait more than 15 mins and packages list updated.
    Sooooo there is a problem and there isn't problem because of after 15 mins it loaded but icon loading packages didn't disapear.
    In Unity 2018.2.21f1 packages list load instatly. sooo there is problem in unity Unity 2019.1.11f1 and 2018.3.some version also.
    And i know that i'm bad in English. I'm from Russia if it does matter
     
  39. buc

    buc

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Posts:
    55
    Is there a way to search/browse and install needed packages manually? Even the info about how the links to the packages are created would be helpful.

    I've tested all the suggestions from different forum threads and a bunch of editor-versions, but without success. Loading the packages takes very long and only some additional packages are listed and always the needed ones are missing. When updating an installed package, I get often a timeout, but sometimes after several tries it is successful to update, but never to show the full package list.

    Then I've installed the pretty old 2018.1.9f2 for a quick test and all the packages are listed almost instantly. So whatever was changed in the package manager, the robustness and tolerance to the nature of an internet connection (although it is a highspeed connection) are gone.
     
  40. CreateM3

    CreateM3

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    I'm using Unity 2018.3.14f1, I've got the same problem, but some I got it fixed. I just disabled network connection and turned it back again while the package manager is opened, then boom the package manager load.

    Hope it helps...
     
  41. CreateM3

    CreateM3

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    EDIT:
    I'm using Unity 2018.3.14f1, I've got the same problem, but somehow I got it fixed. I just disabled network connection and turned it back again while the package manager is opened, then boom the package manager load.

    Hope it helps...
     
  42. buc

    buc

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Posts:
    55
    Thank you for your respond. I've tried it, but without success.

    Then I've used the menu for solving network-problems and selected the option to connect to a special site or folder and entered here the link found on this forum:
    https://download.packages.unity.com/com.unity.probuilder/-/com.unity.probuilder-4.0.3.tgz

    The result on the first try was: The resource is online but doesn't respond to connection attempts on port 443.
    In order to paste some of the detailed info here, I've tried it again several times, but the message was every time "Couldn't determine the problem" (the language on the system is not english, so I've translated to catch the content/meaning, but it is not the exact text shown).

    The problem itself seems to be very sporadic. As an example: selecting one of the shown packages to update results often in a timeout. But trying often enough can result in an success. Retrieving the list seems to take more time and never results in the full list, but always the same additional packages are shown.
     
  43. buc

    buc

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Posts:
    55
    Update: Today the version 2019.2.0f1 came out and of course I've tested it.
    The good thing: a lot more packages are shown and for those who searched for ProBuilder, it is included in this list.
    But the FBX-Exporter (which I've searched for to install) is not shown in the list, even after several tries.
    When the list was realy short, it was pretty obvious that there were missing a bunch of packages. Now with the rather long list, I'm not sure if the FBX-Exporter has been removed from the package manager? At least, I haven't found any info about it.

    How can you install FBX-Exporter manually? In the package manager, there is a button to install a package from disk. But how can you download it?
     
  44. maximeb_unity

    maximeb_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Posts:
    144
    @buc, this looks like a networking problem (though your internet connection speed is not necessarily at fault). Perhaps your computer is connecting to the wrong CDN server, resulting in increased latency/dropped packages. Are you connected to a VPN or corporate/school network? Do you have any networking or proxy software that could be interfering with this connection?
     
  45. buc

    buc

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Posts:
    55
    Thank you(!) for having an eye on this @maximeb_unity .
    No, none of this. Just a simple, plain connection.
    How can this be checked?
     
  46. maximeb_unity

    maximeb_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Posts:
    144
    If you're willing to use some command-line tools "the hard way", we can hopefully determine if you're indeed hitting a CDN server close to you. (For context: CDNs are Content Delivery Networks - they are networks of geographically-distributed servers hosting the same files so users can have faster downloads by getting files from a server "closer" to them.)

    First, open a terminal, and type the following:

    curl -I https://download.packages.unity.com/com.unity.probuilder/-/com.unity.probuilder-4.0.3.tgz

    If that did not work, you probably don't have the
    curl
    command-line tool installed. Otherwise, you should see a few lines, with one that looks like this:

    location: https://upm-cdn.unity.com/tarballs/com.unity.probuilder/com.unity.probuilder-4.0.3/369d5f016d3d43d111aca91fa2d4b394b03cbdd4.tgz


    So if that works, now type the following:

    curl -I <address indicated by that "location:" prefix, starting with https://>


    Please copy the output of that last command here.

    (Side note: Unity now ships with a very basic Package Manager Diagnostics tool that can help troubleshoot network-related issues more easily, but it's cannot yet help diagnosing CDN issues like this. We'll make sure to include these additional diagnostic functionalities in the future.)
     
  47. buc

    buc

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Posts:
    55
    the output is:

    Last-Modified: Wed, 03 Apr 2019 12:11:25 GMT
    ETag: "91400b5ff60bc9905ebb4aba83012c33"
    x-goog-generation: 1554293485553959
    x-goog-metageneration: 2
    x-goog-stored-content-encoding: identity
    x-goog-stored-content-length: 8658277
    Content-Type: application/octet-stream
    x-goog-hash: crc32c=MD3Omw==
    x-goog-hash: md5=kUALX/YLyZBeu0q6gwEsMw==
    x-goog-storage-class: MULTI_REGIONAL
    Accept-Ranges: bytes
    Content-Length: 8658277
    Server: UploadServer
    Cache-Control: public, max-age=3600
    Expires: Fri, 02 Aug 2019 11:45:11 GMT
    Date: Fri, 02 Aug 2019 10:45:11 GMT
    Connection: keep-alive
     
  48. maximeb_unity

    maximeb_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Posts:
    144
    @buc,

    Ok, this looks fine. Final command: what do you get if you type
    ping upm-cdn.unity.com
    ? (If on mac, you can use Ctrl-C after you get the first results because it will run endlessly.)

    Where are you connecting to the Internet? I can ask if there are known CDN problems in your general area of the world.

    Also, I realize I did not answer your question about a workaround - sorry! To get the FBX Exporter, you can try adding
    "com.unity.formats.fbx": "2.0.2-preview.1"
    in your project manifest ("Packages/manifest.json") under the "dependencies" section.

    If that doesn't work, as a last ditch solution, you can download the package from https://download.packages.unity.com...x/-/com.unity.formats.fbx-2.0.2-preview.1.tgz, extract it in a directory, and edit your project manifest to add
    "com.unity.formats.fbx": "file:<path-to-package-directory>"
    .
     
  49. buc

    buc

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Posts:
    55
    maximeb, thank you for your help.

    Here is the translated output:
    Pinging e16987.d.akamaiedge.net [95.101.152.69] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 95.101.152.69: Bytes=32 time=19ms TTL=60
    Reply from 95.101.152.69: Bytes=32 time=19ms TTL=60
    Reply from 95.101.152.69: Bytes=32 time=19ms TTL=60
    Reply from 95.101.152.69: Bytes=32 time=19ms TTL=60

    Ping statistics for 95.101.152.69:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0
    (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in mili-seconds:
    Minimum = 19ms, Maximum = 19ms, Average = 19ms


    I'm connecting from bavaria.
     
  50. Hellshrekers

    Hellshrekers

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    I'm on 2019.2.0f1 and I am having the same issue. Here is my log from that one utility if that's still relevant.
     

    Attached Files: