Search Unity

Package Manager and Project View

Discussion in '2018.2 Beta' started by Gru, Jun 15, 2018.

  1. Gru

    Gru

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Posts:
    142
    Hi, after installing 2018.2 beta I noticed the changes in Project view: Now Assets and Packages folders are shown. The Packages folder shows the Read-only packages with the context menu of normal assets. I have found this change extremely annoying, because it steals horizontal and vertical space, steals eye focus, and is useless to begin with since we have package manager UI and can't do any operations on this list. I would like to know if this is just for the beta version or is this a new direction for the Project view.
     
  2. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    5,833
    If you can't browse the "Packages" content in the Project view, then showing them there seems indeed pointless.
     
    Spartanash1 likes this.
  3. Gru

    Gru

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Posts:
    142
    The content of the packages is browsable, but since the contents are read-only no context menu operations apply even though they are shown. If we wanted to browse the contents of the package (for whatever reason) we could do so via explorer or in another view that shows the proper context menu options (if any). It certainly isn't worth cluttering the project view with this because most of the time we don't want to browse this and it takes screen space all the time. And yes, I find the visual clutter significant.
     
    Spartanash1 and Peter77 like this.
  4. Jes28

    Jes28

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Posts:
    741
    I think its better to get rid of package manager UI and put all it abilities into project window, because I want to exactly know all assets the project consist of and be able to change, remove, add, update, unpack remote package into project to change it a bit and so on.

    Additionally want to be able to see all code of packages in VisualStudio Solution for debuging purposes.
     
  5. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    5,833
    I would actually like to see an option for it.

    I believe technical people like that, but I don't believe artists/animators/sound designers/etc like the idea to have to deal with more clutter.
     
  6. steego

    steego

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Posts:
    949
    I think the idea is to allow for accessing contents of packages in your project, for example to drag a script from there to your gameobject, or a prefab to a scene etc.
     
  7. Jes28

    Jes28

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Posts:
    741
    Additionally it seems like a bug when some package put its settings asset or special working resources into Assets Directory instead of Package Own Directory. e.g. ProBuilder right after importing creates "ProBuilder Data" directory under Assets. This behavior I call Clutter, Having ProBuilder directory alongside Assets and all ProbuilderSpecific and may be All Probuilder Created assets inside it I call Project Structure. So Assets directory always remains clear and structured and not depends on any imported asset.
     
    alexzzzz likes this.
  8. Spartanash1

    Spartanash1

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2015
    Posts:
    6
    Is there any way to hide the package folder in Assets or it not worth messing with since it is a beta?
     
unityunity