Search Unity

Package Has Invalid Dependencies - 404 Not Found

Discussion in 'Package Manager' started by gino_pisello, Apr 15, 2019.

  1. gino_pisello

    gino_pisello

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Posts:
    23
    Good morning I get this funny error when I open any project

    unityError.png
    My internet connection is fine and the firewall doesn't block unity.

    I already deleted the manifest.json and everything in Library and in the AppData\Local\Unity\cache\packages\packages.unity.com folder.

    The screenshot refers to Unity 2018.2.15f1 and I have also Unity 2019 that I use for another project.
    Package Manager version 1.9.11
    Any suggestions?
    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2019
  2. samuelb_unity

    samuelb_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2017
    Posts:
    40
    Hi @gino_pisello,

    That is strange! Is this happening in all versions of Unity?
     
  3. gino_pisello

    gino_pisello

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Posts:
    23
    At the moment I'm working on 2018.2.15f1 and 2019.1.0b10 and that happens only on the 2018.2.15f1.

    EDIT:
    as you can see the error doesn't affect all packages

    unityerr2.png
     
  4. samuelb_unity

    samuelb_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2017
    Posts:
    40
    Right, it only affects built-in packages because those are the ones using the "core" and "sharedinternals" modules. I tried to reproduce on 2018.2.15f1 but haven't encountered any issues myself. Out of curiosity, what happens if you disable and re-enable one those built-in packages?
     
  5. gino_pisello

    gino_pisello

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Posts:
    23
    I disabled and re-enabled the AI package and the red triangle is here again
     
  6. samuelb_unity

    samuelb_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2017
    Posts:
    40
    You mentioned you deleted the
    packages.unity.com
    folder under
    AppData\Local\Unity\cache\packages


    Could you also delete the same folder in
    AppData\Local\Unity\cache\npm


    We believe there must be built-in packages cached there which depended on the old
    com.unity.modules.core
    and
    com.unity.modules.sharedinternals
    modules. These modules no longer exist in newer versions of Unity because it didn't make sense to allow users to remove them since they provide core functionality.
     
  7. gino_pisello

    gino_pisello

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Posts:
    23
    Thank you for your support.
    I deleted all the files in both folders and unfortunately I still get the red triangles error.
    When Unity starts I get this
    unityerr3.png
     
  8. samuelb_unity

    samuelb_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2017
    Posts:
    40
  9. gino_pisello

    gino_pisello

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Posts:
    23
    I created a new project and opened with 2018.2.15f1.
    Attached the logs.
    Now I'm very curious! :)
     

    Attached Files:

  10. samuelb_unity

    samuelb_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2017
    Posts:
    40
    I am very curious too! The logs don't seem to tell us anything useful. Now that your cache should be re-populated, can you look in
    Unity\cache\packages
    and
    Unity\cache\upm
    to see if any built-in packages are cached there? i.e. any subdirectories named
    com.unity.modules...
    And if you do see any, can you take a look in the
    package.json
    and see if
    com.unity.modules.core
    or
    com.unity.modules.sharedinternals
    are listed as dependencies?
     
  11. gino_pisello

    gino_pisello

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Posts:
    23
    This are the screenshot of the folders and the manifest

    unityerr4.png unityerr5.png
     
  12. samuelb_unity

    samuelb_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2017
    Posts:
    40
    Ok so we can rule out the possibility that these missing modules are coming from an outdated global cache. And they couldn't be coming from an outdated project cache because you just created a new project. This is really strange! Did the problem just start happening one day on 2018.2.15f1? Or has it always been there?
     
  13. gino_pisello

    gino_pisello

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Posts:
    23
    Yes, it started on Sunday.
    I can say that I had two different version of Unity opened. I was trying many different packages and plugin, can't say now wich one exactly. I remember I installed vuforia component
     
  14. gino_pisello

    gino_pisello

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Posts:
    23
    Hi! If it can be useful this is the content of
    2018.2.15f1InstallationFoleder/Data/Resources/PackageManager/BuiltInPackages/com.unity.modules.ai/package.json

    {
    "name": "com.unity.modules.ai",
    "version": "1.0.0",
    "type": "module",
    "description": "The AI built-in package controls the presence of the AI module.The AI module implements the path finding features in Unity.Scripting API: https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/UnityEngine.AIModule.html",
    "icon": ".icon.png",
    "dependencies": {
    "com.unity.modules.core": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.sharedinternals": "1.0.0"
    }
    }
     
  15. gino_pisello

    gino_pisello

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Posts:
    23
    LOL I unistalled the 2018.2.15f1 and reinstalled and now I got rid of the red triangles.
    Sorry if you won't be able to know why that happened!
    Thanks for support
     
  16. samuelb_unity

    samuelb_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2017
    Posts:
    40
    Hi @gino_pisello, can you share the content of that same JSON file again now that you've re-installed? I'd like to know if the "dependencies" section is empty now.

    2018.2.15f1/InstallationFolder/Data/Resources/PackageManager/BuiltInPackages/
    com.unity.modules.ai/package.json
     
  17. gino_pisello

    gino_pisello

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Posts:
    23
    Here it is

    {
    "name": "com.unity.modules.ai",
    "version": "1.0.0",
    "type": "module",
    "displayName": "AI",
    "description": "The AI module implements the path finding features in Unity. Scripting API: https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/UnityEngine.AIModule.html",
    "icon": ".icon.png",
    "dependencies": {

    }
    }
     
  18. samuelb_unity

    samuelb_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2017
    Posts:
    40
    Aha, that is good to know! You mentioned you selected different components such as Vuforia during installation - I wonder if that was the culprit. I will need to check how these components can modify the installation because that sounds like a bug (adding dependencies to packages that don't exist). Anyway, thanks for your patience, glad you solved it for now!