Search Unity

Overriding Axis inputs

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by ian00playdead, Aug 8, 2018.

1. ian00playdead

ian00playdead

Hey gang. I've written a script to override the axis inputs on a FreeLook camera.

Seems to be working well, but I'm noticing if I blend to another camera, as soon as the blend is complete (and the FreeLook camera's rig goes blue-ish), its response to those inputs becomes very slow. Not gone, just much slower.

Near as I can tell I'm still providing the same values to the axes and the same deltaTime to UpdateCameraState. Likewise as soon as I start blend back to this FreeLook camera, its response to those inputs immediately goes back to normal.

I'm still somewhat new to Cinemachine, apologies if I'm missing something obvious. Wondering if there's some countervailing force on the FreeLook's axes that only shows up when it's not the active camera. Anyway any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!

2. Gregoryl

Gregoryl

Unity Technologies

This is due to the standby update mode. For Performance, Cinemachine by default doesn't update the standby vcams every frame, it uses a round-robin algorithm. Normally this isn't a problem because standby vcams, by definition, are not feeding the main camera.

If for some reason you need the vcam to update every frame even when in standby, you can change the update mode to "Always":

upload_2018-8-9_9-31-21.png

3. ian00playdead

ian00playdead

Hey Gregory, really appreciate you hitting me back.

Afraid this doesn't seem to have fixed things for me though. Once the camera's done blending away from it, the freecam's movement is still very slow. I've tried to disable everything else I was doing to update the camera "by hand" in order to overwrite its input settings, to make sure that's not having an effect. I'll keep poking.