Search Unity

Overlapping Tile

Discussion in '2D' started by dlange83, Sep 30, 2018.

1. dlange83

dlange83

I'm new to unity and just starting to play around with the Tilemap feature. I've very quickly run into some visual bugginess.

To experiment a little I added three tiles: grass, dirt, and a tree. The tree is a bit larger than a standard tile and is intended to overlap the tile above it to simulate perspective (Using Sort Order: Top Left).

The problem is that while it properly overlaps the grass tile at the top (and oddly enough even at the bottom), the dirt tile overlaps it on all sides, cropping off both the top and bottom and completely ruining the illusion of perspective. The tiles are identical in terms of settings and they aren't on different layers.

What I also discovered is that this unwanted overlap only occurs if any tree tile(s) (not just those affected) are placed above the middle of the camera. The first attached image shows how it should look. It works because there are no trees in the upper part of the tilemap. The second shows what happens if I add a tree in the upper area. In both cases the trees look fine over top of the grass, but in the bottom image (with a tree added above) the dirt tile completely crops any trees it surrounds.

I'm not sure if it has something to do with the camera, layers, Z position or is just a glitch but I'm curious if anyone else is running into similar issues. I thought this might just be a visual glitch in the Scene editor but it also appears in the Game view as well.

Anyone run into similar issues? Any input is appreciated.

Screen Shot 2018-09-29 at 6.49.12 PM.png Screen Shot 2018-09-29 at 6.49.01 PM.png

2. eses

eses

Hi @dlange83

"The tiles are identical in terms of settings and they aren't on different layers."