Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Outline Custom pass issues

Discussion in 'High Definition Render Pipeline' started by jjejj87, Dec 12, 2019.

  1. jjejj87

    jjejj87

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Posts:
    1,117
  2. antoinel_unity

    antoinel_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2019
    Posts:
    267
    Hello,

    Your issue is probably caused by a missing shader in your build. Because the outline script search do a Shader.Find, it is never referenced anywhere and thus unity don't know that it's needed in build.
    To fix your issue, you can either add it to the always included shader or move the Outline.shader to a Resources folder.

    We'll update the documentation script so the issue don't happens anymore :)
     
  3. jjejj87

    jjejj87

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Posts:
    1,117
    screen.jpg
    I've tried adding it to always included shaders and to move the shader file to Resources folder, but still no joy.
     
  4. antoinel_unity

    antoinel_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2019
    Posts:
    267
    If you build in debug mode, do you have any errors ?
     
  5. jjejj87

    jjejj87

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Posts:
    1,117
    Strange thing, I removed the shader from the Resources folder and removed the shaders from the always included list.

    Then I built a standalone. Grey screen, so same as always.

    Then I built it in dev mode -> now it works.

    Pretty strange...

    So, I tried non-dev mode standalone again. Then grey screen.
     
  6. jjejj87

    jjejj87

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Posts:
    1,117
  7. jjejj87

    jjejj87

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Posts:
    1,117
    just checked with 7.1.7, same results.

    Funny thing is, it used to display black screen, now it renders bright grey.
     
  8. antoinel_unity

    antoinel_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2019
    Posts:
    267
    jjejj87 likes this.
  9. jjejj87

    jjejj87

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Posts:
    1,117
    just checked with 7.1.8 and the issue is still there. I know antoinel said 7.2.0 but just wanted to let people know as I got to test 7.1.8

    Peace.