Search Unity

Order of void Update calling

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by sampa93, Sep 17, 2020.

1. sampa93

sampa93

Hello community,

I am new to unity and got an question to the common "void Update()" method.

If I got a class which calls in it's update() another class, which also does calculation in it's update() - in which order will it be called? I know update is called once per frame but anyway there must be an order for the classes?

For example: Will the result be 0 or 1 after the first frame?

Code (CSharp):
    1. public Class A : MonoBehaviour {
    2.     public ClassB classB;
    4.     void Start()
    5.     {
    6.         classB = GetComponent<ClassB>();
    7.     }
    9.     void Update()
    10.     {
    11.         int result = classB.Value;
    12.     }
    13. }
    16. public Class B : MonoBehaviour {
    17.     public int Value = 0;
    19.     void Update()
    20.     {
    21.         this.Value++;
    22.     }
    23. }

2. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

sampa93 likes this.
  3. PraetorBlue

PraetorBlue

There is no guaranteed ordering, unless you explicitly create such an ordering using this: https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/class-MonoManager.html

However I would recommend instead just writing your code in such a way that it works no matter what order the components are updated in. Perhaps move some of the logic from one of the Update methods into a different public method that the other Update method calls.

4. OliverTheLove

OliverTheLove

There also exists [DefaultExecutionOrder(NUMBER)] that you can put over a class to set its order, without going into the editor in the link that PraetorBlue mentioned. They won't however show up in that list either, so beware!

sampa93 likes this.
  5. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker