Search Unity

Optimizing the huge ambitious Urban Open World of EmergeNYC

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by rafaelmfernandez, Jan 9, 2019.

1. rafaelmfernandez

rafaelmfernandez

Hey everyone!

My name is Rafael, I am the creative director on my debut (and the only game I plan on making) EmergeNYC. A firefighting, police, and EMS simulator.

The title is already available on Steam Early Access: https://store.steampowered.com/app/461430/

The game first released in November 2016 and has done relatively well selling approximately 30,000 copies to date.

I am a 24 year old independent developer with no team whatsoever other than a freelancer to help me with programming and networking. I have self taught all my skills (3D Art, Animation, Unity its self, and everything else needed to get this far with this game). I have been using Unity for about 5-6 years now learning more and more things every day. My game has a strong unique concept and creative design that I know, if executed right, could lead to a massively successful title.

However, there has always been 1 problem growing more and more apparent. A rather significant weakness in my creative design process. Optimization.

The one problem seen throughout all negative reviews go something like "The game won't load on my PC", "My Frame rate is terrible", or "The game crashed".

This is attributed to the fact that we are trying something enormous. A huge recreation of Manhattan NYC, detailed trucks & vehicles, amazing looking fire & smoke effects, a ton of very enthusiastic but demanding features. The project is a large mash-up of self made content and a mix of a lot of 3D Assets, framework assets, and other outsourced or paid for content.

My goal for 2019 is to really address this issue of poor performance, memory leaks, loading times and try to improve these issues by at least 50-100%.

Problem Areas: