Search Unity

Optimizing a big map (Shadows,Lights,GI ...)

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by Opeth001, Nov 19, 2019.

1. Opeth001

Opeth001

Hello Everyone,

i have a scene with a map ~1.4KM² and around 400K GameObjects.

!im totally new to Scene optimization!

im trying to bake my whole scene lights and shadows, but each time the Unity Editor crashes in the midle of the baking process, i think i certainly did something wrong.

i have few Questions about scene optimization.

1) 99% of my GameObjects are static, some of them are big gameobjects other are small ones.
    what is the best approach to bake their Shadows ?

2) i read on some forums that it's not good to always combine close GOs by marking them as Static sometimes it's better to use the Dynamic Batching instead.
    in which case should i use Dynamic Batching or Static Batching?
    how can i do it ?

Thank you!

[Edit] my game is a TopDown style.

Last edited: Nov 22, 2019
  2. GuardHei

GuardHei

try dividing the scene into multiple scenes and load them async at runtime only when needed

Opeth001 likes this.
  3. GuitarBro

GuitarBro

Another thing to consider is whether or not static lighting is even appropriate for your scene to begin with. You'll find that lightmaps tend to eat up space quite quickly on large maps (assuming you're baking with enough resolution that it looks decent) and are generally better suited to interior scenes where the bounds of the level tend to be smaller.

In this case, you may actually find that mostly/fully dynamic lighting is worth the tradeoff here, though obviously global illumination (or the lack thereof) will likely be one of the hardest compromises. Unity promised a new GI solution coming around 2021 which should hopefully alleviate this issue, but that's a ways off still. In the meantime, you may see if you can get away with baked GI at a really low resolution + dynamic shadows to at least cut down on bake time and some storage cost.