Search Unity

Opinions about C# class structure construction and best practices

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by NoradZero, Oct 1, 2015.

1. NoradZero

NoradZero

Hi,

I am a senior programmer coming from best practices using ASP.NET MVC. I am using Unity for like 1 year but i struggle a bit about applying best practices with it. This is probably due to its nature and the way it work (such as being a "component pattern").

I would like to know your opinion about how you guys structure your script classes. An example we could use to describe better the problem i face are the properties in a class. Unity serialize by default public fields and properties.. but if you want private field you have to specify it manually. So the only way i found to use property in a "clean way" is to do this:

[SerializeField]
    private string someValue;

public string SomeValue
    {
    get { return someValue; }
    set { SomeValue = value; }
    }

My concerns are i feel it is a lots more job to do this when you have tons of properties. Are you guys would prefer doing this (over) or for this case simply go the simple route of writing:

public string someValue;

Thanks!

2. RichardKain

RichardKain

Well, you seem to be struggling with something that I ran into when I started transitioning over to Unity. Unity's C# Monobehaviour scripts don't utilize mutators the same way that most standard C# programs do. Unity is used to treating simple public variables as properties, and ignoring declared mutators in its component structure.