Search Unity

  1. Tune in to get all the latest Unity news live from Berlin on June 19, 6pm CEST. Set up a YouTube reminder!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2018.1 has arrived! Read about it here
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Scriptable Render Pipeline improvements, Texture Mipmap Streaming, and more! Check out what we have in store for you in the 2018.2 Beta.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. ARCore is out of developer preview! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Magic Leap’s Lumin SDK Technical Preview for Unity lets you get started creating content for Magic Leap One™. Find more information on our blog!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Opening a project in a new version doesn't update it's version number

Discussion in 'Unity Hub Preview' started by Baste, Mar 9, 2018.

  1. Baste

    Baste

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Posts:
    3,017
    I'm not sure if this is an issue with the Hub, or if it's a change in Unity.

    Before, whenever I opened a project with a new version of Unity, projectversion.txt was immediately updated. Now, when I open a project in a new version, that doesn't happen before I make some change and save the project.

    So if go into the hub, select a project that was last opened in version 2017.3.1f1, and select the "Open with 2017.3.1p3" option, it will go through the whole "are you sure you want to upgrade, this will take a while" process. Then, if I close the project immediately, and look at it in the hub, it's still marked as 2017.3.1f1. projectversion.txt also hasn't updated.

    This is a bug, right?
     
    Elringus likes this.
  2. joeksy

    joeksy

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Posts:
    59
    Hi @Baste ,

    This seems to be Editor dependent and the behavior change depending on the Editor the project open with.
    We will investigate the behavior and see which version would automatically update the projectversion.txt.

    Thanks for reporting,

    Joe
     
  3. mcarriere

    mcarriere

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    48
    For what it's worth, we experienced this with 2017.2.2f1 (from a 2017.2.0p1). The workaround was just to edit a file and save the project and just revert the file we edited before committing to our version control.
     
    Charles_Beauchemin likes this.
  4. fweds

    fweds

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    Same issue for me after upgrading project to 2017.4.2f2 :(
    Unity Hub still marked my project with old version !

    Edit : Sorry, it's working after restart Unity Hub :D
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2018
  5. Kichang-Kim

    Kichang-Kim

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Posts:
    28
    @joeksy Same issue here.

    Project Version : 2018.1.1f1, Unity Version 2018.1.2f1

    ProjectVersion.txt is not updated after updating project. Both via Unity Hub and via Editor directly. So every opening project, always "Project update dialog" is appear.

    Is it safe that manually edit ProjectVersion.txt ?
     
  6. technicat

    technicat

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Posts:
    1,213
    I ran into this when upgrading to 2018.1. I found that ProjectVersion.txt would update if I made a scene change but not if I just updated.
     
  7. Kichang-Kim

    Kichang-Kim

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Posts:
    28
    Making a scene change is works. Thanks.
     
    technicat likes this.
  8. technicat

    technicat

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Posts:
    1,213
    Making a change in PlayerSettings (then Save Project) should work, too.
     
  9. Elringus

    Elringus

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Posts:
    223
    @joeksy any news on this? I've found this issue on the tracker and it's marked "By Design". Is it really by design? We have to change something in the project and then save it or manually edit the ProjectVersion.txt after each update?
     
  10. Baste

    Baste

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Posts:
    3,017
    Yeah, this is bad. This is a change in how Unity works that may cause a huge cost in time, as you can end up running the same reimport twice. Those take everything from minutes to an hour.
     
    Jes28 and Elringus like this.
  11. technicat

    technicat

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Posts:
    1,213
    This behavior especiallly doesn’t make sense considering you can make changes to the scripts, including upgrading to new APIs, and ProjectVersion.txt still won’t update without a scene or project settings change.
     
    Jes28 and Elringus like this.
  12. technicat

    technicat

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Posts:
    1,213
    I just checked to see if it’s still happening with 2018.1.2 and it is, but I realized it does automatically upgrade ProjectVersion.txt properly for my projects that are on Unity Collab (which may be why I didn’t notice this issue until recently, when I updated some projects stored only on github)
     
  13. Deozaan

    Deozaan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Posts:
    543
    When you update a project, you have to click File -> Save Project for it to save the changes to the ProjectVersion.txt file. As far as I know, there is no need to edit and then revert any files. Just make sure you save the project.
     
  14. technicat

    technicat

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Posts:
    1,213
    I have tried that, and (with my github projects that are not connected with Unity services), saving the project doesn’t update ProjectVersion.txt if no other changes have been made. I haven’t tried editing and then reverting scripts, but just editing scripts doesn’t update ProjectVersion.txt. Only settings and scene changes.
     
  15. Elringus

    Elringus

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Posts:
    223
    Doesn't work for me either.
     
    technicat likes this.
  16. jk314

    jk314

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    36
    I was having the same problem, my ProjectVersion.txt was updating but would not recognise it and would try open with a previous version, but as mentioned you must click on File > Save Project, not Ctrl-S as these are different, the issue went away.