Search Unity

  1. Click here to receive a gift with your purchase of Unity Pro or Unity Enterprise.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Open Web Player testing of Unity 3.4 [mark 2]

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by neonleif, Jul 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. neonleif

    neonleif

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Posts:
    29
    We've completed another build of Unity's next version: 3.4, so we need your help once again to make sure nothing broke in the process.

    Before pushing the red button that sends the Unity 3.4 editor out to the entire world, we'd like to have you guys checking that the web player auto-update works.

    So provided you have a 3.3 or earlier web player installed already, please go to the test player we've uploaded here :

    http://files.unity3d.com/nicolaj/AutoUpdateTest/

    If the player on that page causes any problems, please tell us immediately in this thread.

    Please try some of your Unity Web Payers exported with earlier versions of Unity 3.x in the updated 3.4.0f2 player


    This is what you should expect to see (notice the version number 3.4.0f2):

    edit: sorry... wrong screenshot, now updated.
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2011
  2. Pedro Afonso

    Pedro Afonso

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Posts:
    240
    All working!!!

    Working in IE 9.0 Windows 7 64-bits

    EDIT: Release it, PLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAASE
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2011
  3. 95KillerZ95

    95KillerZ95

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Posts:
    253
    Yes, it works.
    I've tried with Firefox and Chrome with autoupdate and it shows that blue screen with that version.
    Also I've tried to build a web player of a game that I'm developing and it works.
    The o.s. is Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium....
     
  4. ColossalDuck

    ColossalDuck

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Posts:
    3,246
    Works fantastically.
    Windows 7 64b. Chrome.
     
  5. Martin-Schultz

    Martin-Schultz

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,377
    Works proper.
     
  6. Ferazel

    Ferazel

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Posts:
    463
    Safari 5.0.5
    MacOS 10.6.8

    Either the screenshot of what it is supposed to look like needs to be updated or on my version I'm seeing a background to that text in the upper left corner. Functionality wise though it appears to be working properly.

    Edit: Also I never saw the Unity logo in the lower-right.
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2011
  7. Tiles

    Tiles

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,475
    Not an update but a fresh install. I´ve installed the beta plugin at my new notebook, and here it misses the beta logo down right. The version number at the top is showing though. Firefox 3.6, Win 7 Home, 64 Bit.
     
  8. Maurice-Hoffman

    Maurice-Hoffman

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    182
    It works fast, i only see text in the upper left corner, no unity logo with beta 3

    Mac os x snow leopard
     
  9. Per

    Per

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Posts:
    457
    Text in top left corner is correct, no Unity logo shown in the bottom right though. Win7 FF5.
     
  10. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    26,726
    there is no unity beta logo here and there is a border in the text at the top left. win 7 64 bit. updated from previous beta 3.4 web player.
     
  11. ColossalDuck

    ColossalDuck

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Posts:
    3,246
    Ditto with the above 3 posts!
     
  12. Tiles

    Tiles

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,475
    Ran fine on my main pc. Win 7, 64 Bit, Firefox 4

    Mh, while testing the right click menu i stumbled across a very vague passus in the unity web player settings:
    How long is some time here? 100 minutes or 100 years? It would be nice when the information about this not used time would be a bit more informative. I would even suggest to give the user a way to set this time up to his own needs :)
     
  13. Alvarus

    Alvarus

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Posts:
    203
    Works for me.
     
  14. boribhi

    boribhi

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Posts:
    26
    It loads but, when I click somewhere my mouse freezes (about 5 seconds) then it is ok. When I switch to another tab then come back, the same thing happens again.

    Win Vista 32-bit, Chrome 12.0.742.112
     
  15. carking1996

    carking1996

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    2,563
    Works well. Thankyou! :D REL!?!?!!!
     
  16. Don-Gray

    Don-Gray

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Posts:
    2,278
  17. cannon

    cannon

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Posts:
    751
    Reverted to older 3.3 web player before visiting page, but the logo is still missing on the lower right.

    FF5, WinXP.
     
  18. zine92

    zine92

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,347
    Erm. Have the words that says Version of the runtime 3.40f2 but no Unity logo that says Unity beta. On

    Tested on:

    Firefox 5.
    Chrome Canary 14.0.814.0.
    Opera 11.50

    Windows 7 x64

    All the same. No logo but the words. But anyways COOOL. So we are near to 3.4 final. Finally. :D
     
  19. hasullivan

    hasullivan

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Posts:
    74
    Chrome, Windows 7 X64
    No logo but the rest is as expected
     
  20. Ippokratis

    Ippokratis

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,520
    Firefox 5, Leopard 10.6.7
    As above.
     
  21. rumblemonkey

    rumblemonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Posts:
    280
    Firefox 5, Windows XP Pro, 32bit. No logo, the rest as expected.
     
  22. flim

    flim

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Posts:
    324
    Works

    Firefox 5.0
    Chrome 12
    Safari 5.0.5
    IE 9

    Windows Vista Ultimate 64 bit
     
  23. Ender13

    Ender13

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Posts:
    91
    The text appears in the standard GUI box in the upper left and I don't see the Unity icon in the lower right.

    Firefox 5
    Windows 7 x64
     
  24. jmpp

    jmpp

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Posts:
    93
    Snow Loepard, 10.6.7, through Safari 5.0.5 and Unity 3.3: as others say, blue screen reporting the 3.4.0f2 version but no Unity logo in the lower right corner.


    - jmpp
     
  25. Reanimate_L

    Reanimate_L

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Posts:
    2,434
    Worked Fine for me, Win 7 x32 Firefox 5.0
    Win 7 x64 Firefox 5.0
    Win 7 x64 Chrome 12.742
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2011
  26. ForrestX

    ForrestX

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Posts:
    94
    WinxpSp3
    Chrome,Firefox,Explorer7

    OK
     
  27. mmuller

    mmuller

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Posts:
    88
    As with everyone else on OSX:

    10.6.8 SL

    Chrome 12.0.742.112 - Update Text fine, but no logo
    Firefox 4.0.1 - Update Text fine, but no logo
    Safari - 5.0.5 (6533.21.1) - Update Text fine, but no logo
    Seamonkey 2.0.4 - Update Text fine, but no logo

    But


    Opera 11.5 1074 - Massive Fail... No blue Screen, totally blank...
     
  28. Metron

    Metron

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Posts:
    1,046
    Ok with

    Win7 Ultimate 64bit
    Chrome (latest version)
     
  29. neonleif

    neonleif

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Posts:
    29
    My bad, I was lame enough not to clear my browser cache when taking the screenshot... fixed.

    If anyone sees the above without the grey box in top left + the Unity logo in lower right, they should clear the cache - other than that it should not have any effect on the test.
    It simply means that you have helped us with this before.

    Regarding the release date... imminent, but not before we're happy in QA :p
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2011
  30. galent

    galent

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,070
    OS X 10.6.8 - Safari 5.0.5 and Firefox 5.0 working here.

    Cheers,

    Galen
     
  31. RamJa

    RamJa

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Posts:
    1
    Firefox 5, Chrome, IE8 Windows 7 32bit

    All working~
     
  32. Rush-Rage-Games

    Rush-Rage-Games

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,998
    The auto update test works!

    Windows 7 64 bit.

    Safari, Internet Explore, and Firefox

    But when I went to a webplayer in firefox that was exported in 2.6 it gave me a page full of numbers and letters.



    The same webplayer works fine in Safari and Internet Explore.

    Thanks UT for bring so awesome!
     
  33. IcyPeak

    IcyPeak

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Posts:
    377
    Win7 x64, IE9, works properly.
     
  34. Dariyo

    Dariyo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Posts:
    19
    Works fine !

    Win7 64bit
    Chrome 12 Firefox 5.0
     
  35. Farfarer

    Farfarer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,249
    Win7 64bit, Opera 11, upgrading from player version 3.3, worked fine.
     
  36. liquidgraph

    liquidgraph

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Posts:
    324
    Where do you guys download the Unity 3.4 RC? Is it publicly available?
     
  37. maxfax2009

    maxfax2009

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Posts:
    410
    Win7 64bit Firefox 5.0

    works fine :)
     
  38. ColossalDuck

    ColossalDuck

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Posts:
    3,246
    No. Just the web player.
     
  39. spk

    spk

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    533
    Worked for me. XP Chrome.
     
  40. deram_scholzara

    deram_scholzara

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Posts:
    1,028
    works great =-)
     
  41. Dev.D1

    Dev.D1

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Posts:
    99
    works ok!

    Chrome 12.0.742.112
    Mac OS X 10.6.7
     
  42. Hummelwalker

    Hummelwalker

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    119
    Windows7 x64, IE9, works fine.
     
  43. ROCFriesePoort

    ROCFriesePoort

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    107
    Works OK

    Mac OS X version 10.6.7
    Firefox 4.0.1
    Safari 5.0.5
     
  44. shaderbytes

    shaderbytes

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Posts:
    900
    works fine. Windows 7 basic Chrome 12.0.742.112
     
  45. Codster

    Codster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Posts:
    440
    Alright I installed the web player and went through the auto update with each one then tested on a older game;

    Windows 7 home premium
    firefox 5 (the beta) works
    chrome (newest) works
    opera (newest) works
    safari (newest) works
    IE9 works but I had to restart after auto update, this likely just be a internet hiccup as it has bin cutting in and out today.


    Windows xp home edition service pack 3

    firefox 5 (beta) works
    chrome (newest) works
    opera (newest) works
    safari (newest) works
    IE8 works

    Wish I could get you vista but I am currently unable.
     
  46. Pandemona

    Pandemona

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Posts:
    13
    Works!

    Win 7 SP1
    Opera 11.50
     
  47. 95KillerZ95

    95KillerZ95

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Posts:
    253
    It seems that it works at all without problems, so press that red button and we can download Unity 3.4 *-*
     
  48. flim

    flim

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Posts:
    324
    If they put some 3.5 features in advance it is worth to wait ;)
     
  49. zine92

    zine92

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,347
    Hmm i would prefer for them to release earlier so that Unity dev can work on the release of 3.5. Rather then having them include too many features for 3.4 until it is buggy. I rather they release a bug-free and some new features than more features but more buggy.

    And ya are right. Good things are worth the wait. :D
     
  50. Ippokratis

    Ippokratis

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,520
    $398.jpg
    Unity developers gathered outside the Greek parliament requesting immediate release of unity 3.4
    Unity developers unite !
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
unityunity