Search Unity

  1. The 2022.1 beta is now available for testing. To find out what's new, have a look at our 2022.1 beta blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Graphics OnRenderImage is being called twice per frame on some scripts

Discussion in '5.4 Beta' started by anollan, Jun 17, 2016.

  1. anollan

    anollan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    I'm encountering a sneaky bug, where some of my post-process effects are done twice in a row, because OnRenderImage is being called twice per frame. Here are some more details:
    - Occurs on Beta21, and previous betas.
    - Confirmed that OnRenderImage is called twice through log output, and by looking at a graphics capture.
    - Occurs in a built version (Win32), but not in the editor.
    - Only occurs on a few of the post process effects, and different ones depending on the scene.
    - If it happens on a certain effect on a certain camera, it always happens (repeatable).
    - Toggling Graphics Jobs doesn't affect it.

    I have created a workaround, where I return from OnRenderImage early if it is called a second time per frame, but this still costs a Blit. Also, I may have missed other locations where this is occurring.

    Is this a known bug? I'm apprehensive to create a repro case, since I suspect it will disappear once I try simplifying the case, but will attempt to create a repro if necessary.

    -Andrew
     
    MrEsquire likes this.
  2. Alex-Lian

    Alex-Lian

    Guest

    Could we get a bug report please? Please post the #.

    Repro project definitely ideal, but at least which effects
     
  3. Silent8Strike

    Silent8Strike

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Posts:
    29
    Is it possible to get an update on this issue (814402)? Pretty much destroys our visuals right now, as double processing image effects like bloom is a very bad thing.

    This is the only major issue we've encountered migrating to 5.4 so far.
     
  4. CarlosRincon

    CarlosRincon

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Posts:
    124
    Hi, this is with our developers and we're aiming to address it in a patch soon after the 5.4.0 release.
     
unityunity