Search Unity

Third Party Online Matchmaking with Mirror

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Tornadoally, Jun 14, 2020.

1. Tornadoally

Tornadoally

Hello all, I am creating a multiplayer game using Mirror and I am new to networking, I have made my game fully functional on both clients, but I can only host and join on localhost. Again I am new and with Unity's Multiplayer being deprecated I have been doing hours of research and found myself stuck. If anyone knows how I can make hosting and joining rooms (like in Brackey's Multiplayer FPS series from 17-21 "
    " Help is greatly appreciated! Thank you! :D

2. Tornadoally

Tornadoally

Nevermind I finally found a solution

3. mischa2k

mischa2k

What did you use?

We are working on a matchmaking service right now too :)

MentalGames likes this.
  4. Tornadoally

Tornadoally

Tom Weiland's tutorial series, I'm happy if this can help you!

Last edited: Feb 8, 2021
  5. mischa2k

mischa2k

Haven't watched it yet, sorry.
    We are about to release a list server service and will look into matchmaking afterwards :)

6. davidmgordon16

davidmgordon16

@Tornadoalli can u send the script? i literaly are working on that too with mirror (the scripts u changed)

7. davidmgordon16

davidmgordon16

@vis2k hey, how are things going with the matchmaking? (will it be able to use over different networks?)

8. Tornadoally

Tornadoally

@davidmgordon16
    I didn't change any scripts, I started from scratch using that tutorial series, by Tom Wieland. You may have to restart, but that could be a good thing!

9. unity_Y0Ec4trCptbzTA

unity_Y0Ec4trCptbzTA

For everybody who is reading this later like me: You can put the IP of the host into the Client box(normaly there is localhoste). But the problehm is that your Wifi router will block you. So you have do use a delicited server oder try to trick you Wifi router its very difficulty. But if the host and the client are in the same Wifi network. It would work without problehms.