Search Unity

Online maps, with users, ratings etc.. what tools to use?

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by CurlewStudios, Feb 16, 2019.

1. CurlewStudios

CurlewStudios

Hi! I am trying to figure out how to structure the online component of my game but I'm completely new to network programming, servers, and databases.

The core of what I want to do is for the user to upload maps they have created in the in-game editor to a server. Users can browse maps made by other players and sort them by highest rated, author, date uploaded etc.
    They can also download, play and rate these maps.

From what I can gather, at least this metadata should be very easy to handle in a SQL database, but I would guess the map data itself shouldn't be kept in this database?
    The maps are just XML files with a tile system and some other things. How would you go about storing these maps? And how would you handle the communication? Are there any built-in unity tools that could help me in this? Oh and any recommendations for server hosting? I wouldn't expect any more than 20 users accessing it at the same time.

Thank you for any pointers you can give me on how to approach this!

2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

If there is actually no multiplayer aspect to the game, I'd consider doing this all with UnityWebRequest on the client side, and PHP/MySQL on the server side. I'd store the files as regular files on disk on the server, and have the PHP scripts assign file names to them. You'll need to aggressively enforce validation of the file types and sizes that people upload by the way, or you risk users uploading really anything.