Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Online FAQ needs correction

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by JibbSmart, Jun 18, 2018.

1. JibbSmart

JibbSmart

The FAQ on the Unity Multiplayer page has incorrect info about network topologies. It says it supports a "peer-to-peer topology", which it might, but it's describing a "client-server" topology.

I'm no expert on this, but Glenn Fiedler is:
    Screenshot_20180618-085641.png

So I also have a question: does Unity Multiplayer optionally also support peer-to-peer (all players communicating with all or most others) for games where this might be preferable over client-server?

Thanks! :)

2. thegreatzebadiah

thegreatzebadiah

I believe this is just a semantics issue. Unity uses the term peer-to-peer to differentiate from dedicated server. The problem with calling it client-server is that the term could describe peer-hosted or dedicated host architecture. So you can say things like "client-server where the server is one of the players" but that's a bit of a mouth full.

And peer-to-peer seems pretty accurate to me, the connections are from one peer to another. Ok, yeah, you can't send from every peer in a match to every other peer directly, but that was never claimed.

That being said, I would love to see some "true" peer-to-peer set ups where every client is connected to every other client. I think there is potential to reduce latency in some cases, but I think in most games you're going to end up needing to designate one of the clients as a the "host" anyway because someone has to have authority over all the non-player owned stuff. Then you end up having to communicate with the "host" and have the host communicate the changes out to the other clients and you're right back where you started (at least for things that players don't own).