Search Unity

"OnFocus - Select all" not working for TMP input on Android

Discussion in 'Unity UI (uGUI) & TextMesh Pro' started by Fizzer, Jun 26, 2019.

  1. Fizzer

    Fizzer

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2016
    Posts:
    36
    Hello!

    I'm a long-time Text Mesh Pro user who's upgrading from 2017.4 to 2018.4. I used to use the paid version of TMP (1.2.2), and I'm now upgrading to the built-in version (1.4.1).

    I ran into a functionality regression of the Text Mesh Pro Input Field component when the "OnFocus - Select All" box is checked on Android.

    Repro steps:

    1. Create a Text Mesh Pro input field in a canvas.
    2. Ensure the "OnFocus - Select all" box is checked (as it is by default).
    3. Give the box some text, such as "hello".
    4. Run the app on an Android device.
    5. Tap the text box with your finger
    6. In the software keyboard that pops up, press any key, such as "5"

    Actual results: The "5" is appended to "hello", leaving "hello5" in the box.
    Expected results: The "5" replaces the text, leaving simply "5" in the box.

    My app relies on this behavior since it makes it easy to replace the contents of a box, which is something my users do quite often so adding the extra step of deleting the text is a big problem.

    I believe it to be a bug since the other platforms already selects all and allows for replacing, so Android should behave the same. Also because it works in 1.2.2.
     
  2. Stephan_B

    Stephan_B

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Posts:
    3,314
    Thanks for reporting the behavior.

    I am currently travelling so I won't be able to look into this until early next week. I'll provide feedback as soon as I have more information.
     
  3. Fizzer

    Fizzer

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2016
    Posts:
    36
    Hi, any update on this? I filed bug 1168274 back when I made this forum thread nearly three months ago, but I still have not seen any progress.
     
  4. Stephan_B

    Stephan_B

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Posts:
    3,314
    I should have an update on this tomorrow.
     
  5. Fizzer

    Fizzer

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2016
    Posts:
    36
    I hate to be a bother but it's been 3 weeks -- is progress being made?
     
  6. Stephan_B

    Stephan_B

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Posts:
    3,314
    Thank you for the reminder.

    I did look at the issue a few weeks ago for which I still need to find a good solution. I'll try looking at it again over the new few days and provide feedback shortly thereafter.

    Please feel free to poke me again if I do not provide an update within that time frame.
     
  7. Fizzer

    Fizzer

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2016
    Posts:
    36
    Hey, checking in :)
     
    micbigtree likes this.
  8. micbigtree

    micbigtree

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    bump on this, having the same issue with iOS