Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

One big texture for everything VS little textures per obj.

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by col000r, Nov 5, 2008.

1. col000r

col000r

Please help me understand the way unity's engine works a little better:

Is it better to have one big 2048x2048 texture that every object uses (even if every object uses only a little part of it), or should each object have it's own little texture? And why, or why not? :]

I have a fairly small scene where most of the objects are always on the screen. (or at least one object of each kind, so most of the texture atlas would be in use at any given moment).

2. YayPlay

YayPlay

I am also new to Unity. But if I have understand it correct with iPhone and the unified memory of the prcoessor and the PoverVRchip. Its good to have as little texture/material/draw calls as possible.

Meaning grouping objects together is better the many separate.

And I presume that if the grouped object (which then acts as one mesh has a shared texure, cood tristripping meaninging no UV or VC seams it should speed up performance.

On the other han the PoverVR chip works MUCH faster when using VQ packed textures and the smaller they are the quicker the data fetch for them is. But large VQ texure can get packing artifacts so I gues you have to balance that look agains performance.

I also think that 1024x1024 is the larges tex size for the PovVR chip but I can be wrong.

3. the_motionblur

the_motionblur

[edit] Ah - I missed that this is the iPhone section. Sorry. The following is rather general then.

Personally I'd vote for the "several small textures" option. That's not something specific, though.

If you have an object with it's own small texture you have more freedom.