Search Unity

Odin Serializer problem

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Flynn_Prime, Aug 24, 2018.

1. Flynn_Prime

Flynn_Prime

Hi, I hope someone can help me here as Odin still isn't completely documented, and i'm a serialization noob. I am trying to serialize a polymorphic list, but I am getting a warning from Unity as I am trying to use Odin to serialize a Sprite, but Unity warns to let it handle its own "weird objects". Full warning below:

"A formatter has been created for the UnityEngine.Object type Sprite - this is *strongly* discouraged. Unity should be allowed to handle serialization and deserialization of its own weird objects. Remember to serialize with a UnityReferenceResolver as the external index reference resolver in the serialization context."

This is the base class that contains the Sprite reference the warning refers to:

Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    3. [System.Serializable]
    4. public class Item
    5. {
    6.     public string itemName;
    7.     public Sprite icon;
    9.     public Item(string itemName, Sprite icon)
    10.     {
    11.         this.itemName = itemName;
    12.         this.icon = icon;
    13.     }
    14. }
    and the Serialization/Deserialization:

Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.IO;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using OdinSerializer;
    4. using UnityEngine;
    6. public class SaveData
    7. {
    8.     public static void SaveInventory(List<Item> inventoryItems)
    9.     {
    10.         byte[] bytes = SerializationUtility.SerializeValue(inventoryItems, DataFormat.Binary);
    11.         File.WriteAllBytes(Application.persistentDataPath + "/SaveFile.dat", bytes);
    12.     }
    14.     public static List<Item> LoadInventory()
    15.     {
    16.         var filePath = Application.persistentDataPath + "/SaveFile.dat";
    18.         if (File.Exists(filePath))
    19.         {
    20.             byte[] bytes = File.ReadAllBytes(filePath);