Search Unity

Oculus XR Plugin Causes RenderDoc Crash

Discussion in 'VR' started by Katerpilet, Jan 12, 2021.

  1. Katerpilet

    Katerpilet

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Posts:
    87
    When I load RenderDoc in editor and then hit Play, if the Oculus XR Plugin is installed and enabled, it causes an editor crash. This does not happen if the Oculus XR Plugin is not installed. I have tested on 2020.1.17f1 and 2020.2.1f1. I also am using URP

    The editor log doesn't show any data just:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. IVRDeviceCallback_CreateEyeTextureResources 000002BC67B7B740
    2. IVRDeviceCallback_CreateEyeTextureResources 000002BC67B7B800
    3. IVRDeviceCallback_CreateEyeTextureResources 000002BC67B7B620
    4. IVRDeviceCallback_CreateEyeTextureResources 000002BC67B7B860
    5. IVRDeviceCallback_CreateEyeTextureResources 000002BC67B7B6E0
    6. IVRDeviceCallback_CreateEyeTextureResources 000002BC67B7B7D0
    7. IVRDeviceCallback_CreateEyeTextureResources 000002BC67B7B5C0
    8. IVRDeviceCallback_CreateEyeTextureResources 000002BC67B7B830
    9. IVRDeviceCallback_CreateEyeTextureResources 000002BC67B7B680
    10. IVRDeviceCallback_CreateEyeTextureResources 000002BC67B7B7A0
    11. IVRDeviceCallback_CreateEyeTextureResources 000002BC67B7B560
    12.  
     
  2. Zenchuck

    Zenchuck

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    297
    Did you make any progress with this?
     
  3. daves

    daves

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Posts:
    24
    This has been fixed in 2021.2.0a2 and in 2021.1.0b9. A fix for 2020.2 is pending and should be available soon. Please check the release notes.
     
  4. AlexPfaffe

    AlexPfaffe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2021
    Posts:
    5
    I'm on Unity 2020.3.12f
    I have a custom native plugin to render and I am trying to load RenderDoc.
    This results in a crash in my plugin from the OnRender() code path, probably because the device is no longer valid.
    Should I expect to receive a UnityPluginUnload call before this point?
    Are the Unity instances passed to OnRender still the same?

    How can I see if my problem is the same issue as what is discussed here?