Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

Oculus Quest + second screen

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by beatdesign, Sep 25, 2020.

  1. beatdesign

    beatdesign

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Posts:
    137
    I'm developing an application that should run on desktop and connect to the Quest via Oculus Link.
    For this application I need 2 outputs:
    * Desktop monitor: Simple camera [DesktopCamera] with screenspace UI Control panel
    * Quest HMD output [XRRig]

    I used this approach:
    1. DesktopCamera is set with a Target Display 1
    2. XRRig MainCamera is set to Display 2
    3. Screen Space Canvas is set to Display 1
    4. At Start I activate all monitors following this
    I have 2 monitors on my desktop.
    When the .exe application starts, it correctly renders ScreenSpace UI on monitor1, and the Quest output on monitor 2.
    Is this the only configuration possible for a setup like this? Do I need 2 monitors, or there is a way to use only one monitor on desktop and use the Quest as monitor2?
     
  2. mikerz1985

    mikerz1985

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Posts:
    79
    You can render the main camera as normal for VR targeting display 1, and then make an additional camera for display 1 with a higher depth value
     
    tenconmar likes this.
  3. beatdesign

    beatdesign

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Posts:
    137
    Hi mikerz1985, I didn't get the meaning, sorry.
    I'd like to have this output when I start the application:
    One desktop monitor has the screenspace camera
    The OculusQuest camera is rendered only inside the Quest headset, NOT also on my second desktop monitor.
    I'm using URP.

    Thanks
     
  4. nishkakhendry

    nishkakhendry

    Joined:
    May 29, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    hi @beatdesign ! I need to do exactly the same thing. Did you get it working?
     
  5. tenconmar

    tenconmar

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2021
    Posts:
    29
    Maybe change your PC main and secondary monitors configuration assuming you are on Windows. For me, sometimes if a unity tab in open on the secondary monitor when play testing it leads to the issue described above.

    If not that, maybe cross reference your current project configuration with the unity XRTK docs