Search Unity

Oculus Go Screen Resolution & Anti-Aliasing Tips & Tricks

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by Three65, Oct 10, 2018.

1. Three65

Three65

Hey everyone, I am new to Unity and have been working on getting the best possible resolution for my Oculus Go. Hopefully this will be a good thread to share all of our tips and tricks. I reached out to @JoeStrout about this in a conversation to learn somethings from him. But he would rather start something in the Forums so that everyone can benefit from some of his tips and tricks.

I am hoping to figure out how to do something like this.
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/quality-settings-for-oculusgo.544942/

Or if there is a better way I would love to learn how to get a better overall resolution from my Oculus Go.

I also recently came across this little program that uses the ADB to change the resolution of the Oculus Go.

https://www.reddit.com/r/OculusGo/comments/8nhhsj/heres_an_easy_tool_to_increase_visual_quality_on/

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

It's literally a matter of creating a script, and putting this into the Awake or Start method:

Code (csharp):
    2. XRSettings.eyeTextureResolutionScale = 2.0f;
    And you might experiment with other values; it doesn't have to be an integer. A value of 1.3 or 1.7 might actually look better than 2.0.

Second, make sure you have anti-aliasing (in the Player settings) set to 4x Multi-Sampling. Nothing to experiment with here; that should always be the setting used on the Go.

Finally, you want to try to avoid high-contrast, straight lines as much as possible. These show the aliasing much more than curved or lower-contrast lines.

stefanob, beyonderic and Three65 like this.
  3. Three65

Three65

Do I need to add this script to something in my project or just create it and when my project runs it will work?

4. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

No, sorry, you do need to actually add the script to an object in the scene in order for it to run.