Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

oculus go, everything is grey when i run?

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by AJS654321, Feb 6, 2019.

  1. AJS654321

    AJS654321

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Posts:
    40
    hi, ive got everything set up and it exports to my go ok, but when I open the apk file and run it , there is nothing? everything is grey?

    any suggestions as to what im doing wrong?
     
  2. JoeStrout

    JoeStrout

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    7,754
    What exactly do you mean by "open the apk file and run it"?

    My normal procedure for testing is to hit Build & Run within Unity, so I'm not sure what you're doing there.

    You'll also want to check the log (
    adb logcat
    ) to see if there are any errors.
     
  3. AJS654321

    AJS654321

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Posts:
    40
    You need to run a cmd prompt - adb install .apk for it to run in oculus go, got it sorted , it wasn’t working with substance materials, yet another nightmare to fix lol
     
  4. JoeStrout

    JoeStrout

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    7,754
    You really don't need to do that, though. If your project is set up correctly, Unity will install it for you as part of Build & Run.
     
    AJS654321 likes this.
  5. AJS654321

    AJS654321

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Posts:
    40
  6. JoeStrout

    JoeStrout

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    7,754
    I just did this for a new project today. The steps were:
    1. Change the Build Target to Android (and I use the Internal build path, with compression set to ASTC).
    2. In Build Settings, check the package identifier, set the minimum API level to 25, and add Oculus under XR support.
    3. Plug in the Go.
    4. Build & Run.
    I'm using Unity 2018.2.15, but it's worked the same way on any recent version of Unity I've tried... If that doesn't do it for you, I'm not sure why. Do you get an error?
     
  7. AJS654321

    AJS654321

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Posts:
    40
    Ive got it working now in 2017 without having to mess around with dab command prompts, makes life so much easier , I can just press build and run and it goes straight to my go for viewing, what a relief
     
    JoeStrout likes this.