Search Unity

  1. Looking for a job or to hire someone for a project? Check out the re-opened job forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity wants to learn about your experiences working on a Unity project today. We'd like to hear from you via this survey.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Unity 2020 LTS & Unity 2021.1 have been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Read here for Unity's latest plans on OpenXR.
    Dismiss Notice

Oculus Compositor / Overlay loading screen

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by Carwashh, Oct 2, 2017.

  1. Carwashh

    Carwashh

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Posts:
    588
    I've been search all day, but to no avail - there doesn't seem to be much info out there on what I'm looking for (for a junior level dev at least).

    I've done an VR experience for the Vive, which uses SteamVR_LoadLevel to take the user to the SteamVR compositor, with a quad to say what's happening, then loads all the scenes and then goes back to the experience when everything has finished loading.

    I now need to do this for Oculus. I'm attempting to use OVROverlay, with OVRRTOverlayconnector, using a cubemap.

    The test cubemap that I've added, gets automatically replaced by a RenderTexture at run time... which leads to continuous console errors stating 'Need Cubemap texture for cube map overlay'.

    My Google-fu is being super weak here, and I'm in need of some help, please!
     
  2. orrbain

    orrbain

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Posts:
    20
    Did you ever find out anything on how to do this? It's crazy but there is like ZERO information out there on doing loading screens for Oculus SDK with Unity. At this point I am literally just using the OVRScreenFade script to fade to black and then fading back in, but even that doesn't seem right (since you can clearly see the different colors of black).
     
  3. Carwashh

    Carwashh

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Posts:
    588
  4. jashan

    jashan

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Posts:
    3,292
    I posted kind of a similar question to the Oculus forums and received some answers. What I'm currently stuck with is that there doesn't seem to be a way to let the overlays fade in and out (which is really important for a smooth user experience).
     
    Dan_G likes this.
  5. Dan_G

    Dan_G

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Posts:
    22
    Any luck with this?
     
unityunity