Search Unity

  1. Unity 2018.3 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We've updated our Terms of Service. Please read our blog post from Unity CTO and Co-Founder Joachim Ante here
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Want to provide direct feedback to the Unity team? Join the Unity Advisory Panel.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice

Octave3D-Level Design - Snapping, Prop placement, Multi-Prefab painting

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by XGT08, Aug 10, 2016.

  1. XGT08

    XGT08

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Posts:
    1,098
    Ok. Glad to hear it was resolved :)
     
  2. Jakub_Machowski

    Jakub_Machowski

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Posts:
    271

    Thank you! great to hear that :) Cause we have to move to 2018.3 becasue of new trees and gpu based terrain :) Thanks I'm very happy that you like it! :) Sure We will try to inform here also about Release of the game :) Good luck with Octave too! thats a great tool without it making level design with such a number of object would be a pain in unity :) Thanks!
     
  3. MoribitoMT

    MoribitoMT

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    Posts:
    269
    Hi,

    I have kind of bug about snapping.. Sometimes snapping ( grid or object to object ) works do not work somehow, I disable and enable try again, and nothing.. Then I quit unity, and restart unity, usually will fix this bug..

    If this not fixes, I have to remove Octave 3D World Builder script, and add again, lose all settings.. But this definetly fixes to not snapping problem..
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2018
  4. XGT08

    XGT08

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Posts:
    1,098
    I believe this happens after you manually create objects in the scene using Unity. Try pressing the Refresh Scene button in the Inspector and see if this fixes the problem.
     
    MoribitoMT likes this.
  5. MoribitoMT

    MoribitoMT

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    Posts:
    269
    Thank you, I kind of solved that problem...

    However, now, I have different kind of weirdness.. :)

    I added these prefabs to PrefabManager
    Screen Shot 2018-11-20 at 17.45.24.png

    PrefabManager shows me this image for al thumbnails ( My main road from different prefab set )
    Screen Shot 2018-11-20 at 17.45.35.png
     
  6. XGT08

    XGT08

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Posts:
    1,098
    This problem is also related to the same thing unfortunately. If the prefabs were dropped in the manager before the refresh scene operation, then this is what can happen. Drop the prefabs after refreshing the scene and see if it works.
     
    MoribitoMT likes this.
  7. BV123

    BV123

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2016
    Posts:
    31
    ]


    Hi! I just picked up Octave 3D and was wondering if someone can help me with this. The selection tool marquee in Octave 3D isn't aligning with my cursor. This is in a clean project in Unity 2018.2.171f.

    Any help would be appreciated. :)
     
  8. XGT08

    XGT08

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Posts:
    1,098
    I remember your e-mail but admittedly I had completely forgotten about it :) Mainly because your issue is the source of lots of head scratches for me :) I simply have no idea what could be causing such behaviour. It looks as if the mouse position is not reported correctly by Unity. I'm not trying to throw blame at Unity, but it certainly looks that way.

    Did you install any mouse drivers or anything like that or maybe toyed with the mouse settings in Windows? For the moment this is the only thing that I can think of.
     
  9. XGT08

    XGT08

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Posts:
    1,098
    @BV123
    Also, maybe just delete the plugin folder from your project, download it again from the Asset Store and try again. It's silly, but it's worth giving it a try.
     
  10. BV123

    BV123

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2016
    Posts:
    31
    Okay, it's a Windows 10 Compatibility problem. I had to Change high DPI settings > override high DPI scaling behavior > System (Enhanced).

    I had a feeling it wasn't Octave since everything else seems to work just fine and no one else was having the same problem but it's so weird since this Windows 10 compatibility problem seems to only be affecting Octave. Unity and all my other assets (which are a lot) weren't exhibiting a similar behavior so it gave the impression that the problem was with Octave when in fact it wasn't.

    Just strange. o_O

    Anyway, thanks a LOT for steering me in the right direction with the mouse suggestion because that made me think of DPI scaling. Okay, back to work with Octave. :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2018
    XGT08 likes this.
  11. XGT08

    XGT08

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Posts:
    1,098
    I am really glad it got sorted out. I had no idea how to approach this issue :D

    I will have to remember this for the future. Thanks for letting me know!
     
  12. sunrisebacon

    sunrisebacon

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2017
    Posts:
    10
    I was going through the tutorials today and I'm very impressed with the editor so far.

    I have one big problem though: the undo shortcut ctrl+z doesn't work anymore. It always rotates the selected object. That's a very big issue for me. Going through the menu is not an option.

    And is there a way to select the current object in the hierarchy?
    I know that it would jump out of the editor mode but how do I get access to the object inspector?
     
  13. XGT08

    XGT08

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Posts:
    1,098
    I can definitely see how the Undo problem can be a deal breaker. But I can not understand how it is not working. It works perfectly fine here. Was there anything special that you did?

    You can select the Octave3D object using the ALT + R combo. Deselect it with ALT + D.
     
  14. Alic

    Alic

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Posts:
    85
    Is Octave working in 2018.3? Haven't tried using it much, but with the prefab workflows changing I imagine it would need an update? Anyone using it in a 2018.3 project?
     
  15. XGT08

    XGT08

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Posts:
    1,098
    Hi there,

    I haven't tested Octave3D with 2018.3 yet. I hope to start testing as soon as possible.

    Suffice to say, I don't see any breaking changes that would cause Octave3D to break in 2018.3.
     
  16. Alic

    Alic

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Posts:
    85
    Thanks for the quick response, xgt! Will update you if I run into anything.
     
  17. steddyman

    steddyman

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Posts:
    253
    Hi

    I don't think it is working well with 2018.3. I keep getting the logs flooded with errors (about 100 a minute or more) similar to the following error. They stream into the logs as soon as you start moving your mouse across the scene view and stop when your mouse exits the scene view.

    MissingReferenceException: The object of type 'GameObject' has been destroyed but you are still trying to access it.
    Your script should either check if it is null or you should not destroy the object.
    UnityEngine.GameObject.GetComponent[T] () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/Export/GameObject.bindings.cs:28)
    O3DWB.GameObjectExtensions.GetMeshFromMeshFilter (UnityEngine.GameObject gameObject) (at Assets/Octave3D World Builder/Scripts/Extensions/GameObjectExtensions.cs:1142)
    O3DWB.GameObjectExtensions.GetMeshWorldBox (UnityEngine.GameObject gameObject) (at Assets/Octave3D World Builder/Scripts/Extensions/GameObjectExtensions.cs:1039)
    O3DWB.GameObjectExtensions.GetWorldBox (UnityEngine.GameObject gameObject) (at Assets/Octave3D World Builder/Scripts/Extensions/GameObjectExtensions.cs:1004)
    O3DWB.Box.FromObjectWorldAABB (System.Collections.Generic.IEnumerable`1[T] gameObjects) (at Assets/Octave3D World Builder/Scripts/Math/Box/Box.cs:83)
    O3DWB.ObjectSelectionExtrudeGizmo.RenderHandles (O3DWB.TransformGizmoPivotPoint transformPivotPoint) (at Assets/Octave3D World Builder/Scripts/Transform/Transform Gizmos/ObjectSelectionExtrudeGizmo.cs:23)
    O3DWB.ObjectSelectionGizmos.RenderHandles (System.Collections.Generic.HashSet`1[T] selectedGameObjects) (at Assets/Octave3D World Builder/Scripts/Objects/Object Selection/ObjectSelectionGizmos.cs:131)
    O3DWB.ObjectSelection.RenderHandles () (at Assets/Octave3D World Builder/Scripts/Objects/Object Selection/ObjectSelection.cs:194)
    O3DWB.ObjectSelectionSceneRenderPath.RenderHandles () (at Assets/Octave3D World Builder/Scripts/Rendering/Scene/Scene Render Path/ObjectSelectionSceneRenderPath.cs:15)
    O3DWB.SceneRenderer.RenderHandles () (at Assets/Octave3D World Builder/Scripts/Rendering/Scene/SceneRenderer.cs:20)
    O3DWB.Octave3DWorldBuilderInspectorGUI.OnSceneGUI () (at Assets/Octave3D World Builder/Editor/Scripts/Octave3DWorldBuilderInspectorGUI.cs:47)
    System.Reflection.MonoMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, System.Reflection.BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) (at <ac823e2bb42b41bda67924a45a0173c3>:0)
    Rethrow as TargetInvocationException: Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation.
    System.Reflection.MonoMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, System.Reflection.BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) (at <ac823e2bb42b41bda67924a45a0173c3>:0)
    System.Reflection.MethodBase.Invoke (System.Object obj, System.Object[] parameters) (at <ac823e2bb42b41bda67924a45a0173c3>:0)
    UnityEditor.SceneView.CallOnSceneGUI () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/SceneView/SceneView.cs:2833)
    UnityEditor.SceneView.HandleSelectionAndOnSceneGUI () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/SceneView/SceneView.cs:2122)
    UnityEditor.SceneView.OnGUI () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/SceneView/SceneView.cs:1983)
    System.Reflection.MonoMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, System.Reflection.BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) (at <ac823e2bb42b41bda67924a45a0173c3>:0)
    Rethrow as TargetInvocationException: Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation.
    System.Reflection.MonoMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, System.Reflection.BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) (at <ac823e2bb42b41bda67924a45a0173c3>:0)
    System.Reflection.MethodBase.Invoke (System.Object obj, System.Object[] parameters) (at <ac823e2bb42b41bda67924a45a0173c3>:0)
    UnityEditor.HostView.Invoke (System.String methodName, System.Object obj) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/HostView.cs:342)
    UnityEditor.HostView.Invoke (System.String methodName) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/HostView.cs:336)
    UnityEditor.HostView.InvokeOnGUI (UnityEngine.Rect onGUIPosition, UnityEngine.Rect viewRect) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/HostView.cs:310)
    UnityEditor.DockArea.DrawView (UnityEngine.Rect viewRect, UnityEngine.Rect dockAreaRect, System.Boolean customBorder, System.Boolean floatingWindow, System.Boolean isBottomTab) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/GUI/DockArea.cs:363)
    UnityEditor.DockArea.OldOnGUI () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/GUI/DockArea.cs:322)
    UnityEngine.Experimental.UIElements.IMGUIContainer.DoOnGUI (UnityEngine.Event evt, UnityEngine.Matrix4x4 worldTransform, UnityEngine.Rect clippingRect, System.Boolean isComputingLayout) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Modules/UIElements/IMGUIContainer.cs:244)
    UnityEngine.GUIUtility:processEvent(Int32, IntPtr)
     
  18. XGT08

    XGT08

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Posts:
    1,098
    Hi there,

    I don't receieve any errors when using the plugin. I only played with it shortly so it's not really a robust test:

    Octave3D2018_03.png

    Is there anything that you did specifically?

    NOTE: For some reason, I am encountering a different issue. It seems that I can no longer Undo stuff in the scene view. If possible, please use an earlier version of Unity until I figure out whether this is a Unity bug or a bug in Octave3D. I am using a Unity function for Undo/Redo so it seems weird that it just suddenly stopped working.
     
  19. steddyman

    steddyman

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Posts:
    253
    I just responded to your email prior to seeing this. I think the undo issue is related. In order to undo you have to select off the WorldBuilder object in the scene then press Undo 4 times. That finally deletes the last object you had selected, but it is doing it without Octave3D knowledge since you don't have that object selected. This morning, immediately after I did that, it started spewing errors again.

    Unfortunately I cannot use an earlier version as my entire project has been setup with 2018.3 from a few weeks ago and I am using features of 2018.3. The Ctrl-Z not working was reported in an earlier post above and it instead rotates in Z since you are capturing that key in Octave3D. Perhaps because that key isn't passed through undo is never triggered?
     
  20. XGT08

    XGT08

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Posts:
    1,098
    I have sent you an answer to your e-mail with a pack that fixes the Undo/Redo issue.
     
  21. scary_code_monkey

    scary_code_monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    For me the 2018.3 :
    Assets/Octave3D World Builder/Scripts/Transform/Coordinate System/CoordinateSystem.cs(108,33): error CS0029: Cannot implicitly convert type `void' to `UnityEngine.Quaternion'
    error is back....
     
  22. XGT08

    XGT08

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Posts:
    1,098
    Hi there,

    If you are using the latest version, this should not happen. I can load up the project in 2018.3 and no errors are shown. This error was fixed a while back.

    If you think you are using the latest pack, please send me a screenshot of the CoordinateSystem.cs file. More specifically, I am interested to see how how the contents of the SetRotation function of the CoordinateSystem class look like.
     
  23. scary_code_monkey

    scary_code_monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    Ahhhhh - My bad : I am returning to an old project & did not notice that the "Octave3D World Builder" has changed to "Octave3D Level Design" - so I have been re-importing the old package by clicking on the asset & doing re-import ....

    Is it safe to delete the "Octave3D World Builder" from assets and direct replace it with "Octave3D Level Design" - or am I better re-applying the SetRotation fix ?

    (and thanks for the megga quick response!)
     
  24. XGT08

    XGT08

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Posts:
    1,098
    @scary_code_monkey
    In my opinion it is always better to delete old stuff and do a clean import. That's rule number 1 for me :)