Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

Feature Request Occlusion probes or a similar feature - Forest/trees comparison inside

Discussion in 'High Definition Render Pipeline' started by PutridEx, Oct 22, 2021.

  1. LumaPxxx

    LumaPxxx

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Posts:
    316
    Hi, may i ask are these trees placed as gameobjects or they are trees in the terrain system?
    in my test the trees in terrain don't contribute to globe illumination.
    the check box "contribute to globe illumination" in the terrain tree setting is gray out for years.
     
  2. Reanimate_L

    Reanimate_L

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Posts:
    2,706
    Gameobject, I'm not sure what's with terrain trees/details and how they are rendered but lightmapper apparently cannot use gpu instanced mesh to contribute into GI
     
  3. LumaPxxx

    LumaPxxx

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Posts:
    316
    Thank you! i figured it out that i have to mark the tree root gameobject to contribute globe illumination too.
     
  4. Reanimate_L

    Reanimate_L

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Posts:
    2,706
    Hmm as terrain trees or gameobject?
     
  5. LumaPxxx

    LumaPxxx

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Posts:
    316
    As terrain trees.
     
  6. Reanimate_L

    Reanimate_L

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Posts:
    2,706
    Wait, that works? i cannot make it works though, Can you post a screenshot of the terrain trees settings?
     
  7. LumaPxxx

    LumaPxxx

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Posts:
    316
    1.Select the root gameobject and set it as "Contribute GI".


    DOPUTCF`VJ~[QBESRA~39C7.png


    2.Select the children contain mesh renderer which you want to influence the light baking, set them as "Contribute GI" and receive globe illumination from "Light Probes".
    (if you are lazy you could simply click the "Static" check box for the root gameobject and apply to all children.
    but you still need to set mesh renderers to receive globe illumination from "light probes".)


    {10~MFSI}4@{SOI4Z%_}3(3.png


    3.now you can add your trees in terrain trees list and paint them on terrain.

    4.place a probe volume on your trees.

    View attachment 1021173


    Be careful, APVs is kinda buggy for now when you use it for terrain trees.

    if you want the probe volume have same density on tree leaves and tree bark you have to set the highest subdivision as same the lowest subdivision.

    but you don't have this problem when you are using gameobject trees.

    View attachment 1021176

    View attachment 1021179
     
    Reanimate_L likes this.
  8. francescoc_unity

    francescoc_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Posts:
    190
    Can you please report this subdivision issue as a bug with a small repro if possible?

    Thank you!
     
  9. LumaPxxx

    LumaPxxx

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Posts:
    316
    Oh,sure! i was going to talk about it in that APVs feedback thread too.
    but i'm using Unity2022.1.0.b8,i will download the newest one b11 and try to reproduce it.
    if the issue is still in the new version i will file a bug report.
    i will let you know the result tomorrow.
     
  10. Reanimate_L

    Reanimate_L

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Posts:
    2,706
    Ah so that's why i'm getting weird cutoff of the APV Bricks, somehow it doesn't cover the entire tree heights
    @dongliang28 i can confirm the issue also happened on b11
     
  11. francescoc_unity

    francescoc_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Posts:
    190
    Thank you! When you have a bug number can you please send it over either here or in the APV thread? Thank you!
     
  12. LumaPxxx

    LumaPxxx

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Posts:
    316
    I will post it here and tag you!:)

    you could put a huge probe volume with lowest subdivision over those small probe volumes.
    this will slightly fix the dark cutoff problem.
    but i greedily ask a much lower lowest subdivision value for us to use this method for faster baking.:D

    View attachment 1021215
     
    Reanimate_L and PutridEx like this.
  13. LumaPxxx

    LumaPxxx

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Posts:
    316
    Hi,@francescoc_unity ,i have send the bug report file.
    (Case 1411097) Probe Volume subdivision bug with Terrain trees
    the unity version is 2022.1.0.b11 + HDRP 13.1.7
    thank you for your hard work!

    bug.jpg
     
    Reanimate_L and Ruchir like this.
  14. francescoc_unity

    francescoc_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Posts:
    190
    Thank you! We will jump on it soon.
     
    LumaPxxx likes this.