Search Unity

Occlusion Culling not working on Gear VR build

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by scottb9239, Mar 31, 2015.

1. scottb9239

scottb9239

Hi all, I am a Unity Pro/Android Pro user (using 4.6.3f1) and have been using occlusion culling successfully on several PC projects. Recently I have been working on two Gear VR projects using the OVRCameraRig (with Occlusion Culling enabled on both cameras) and have noticed that Occlusion Culling does not seem to work on the actual Gear VR build itself but does work in the editor.

I noticed this on one project as the draw calls did not drop after baking and that far away objects would not disappear between the small gaps in close objects (intentional test) that I was seeing in the editor, which worked as expected.

On the newer project I made a large cube with an invisible shader assigned to it and set to Occluder Static and baked the scene. In the editor the far objects do not draw behind where the invisible cube is as if the cube was there, exactly what I wanted. In Gear VR the draw calls did not drop (are 5x what is showing the editor) and the far objects behind the cube still all show.

Anyone else having issues with Occlusion Culling on Gear VR builds?

Many thanks,
    Scott

2. JDMulti

JDMulti

Haven't tested it, but if you're right, this is some serious issue I think. Do you have a test project available for download?

3. scottb9239

scottb9239

Hi, I sent the project to Unity for testing, so hope to hear back soon.

4. stan4u

stan4u

Hi, have you got any progress on this? do you know if it's fixed in 4.6.4? we are having same issues on gear and note in 4.6.3

5. scottb9239

scottb9239

I tested it with 4.6.4 and the new SDK 0.5.0 but it wasn't fixed.