Search Unity

"Object reference not set to an instance of an object [...]"

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by kevinbaranczyk, Dec 2, 2017.

1. kevinbaranczyk

kevinbaranczyk

Hi there Guys,

I'm a gamedev student, Unity begginer and one frustrated person.
    Why?
    I have started Asbjørn Thirslund's Brackeys Unity tutorial on YouTube, been doing as the guy says, but still I've encountered an issue, which, for 4 days, I've been trying to solve myself and failed.
    I talk about this bloody object reference, as I have seen, many of us struggle to solve. Unfortunately, answers included in other threads don't seem to fit in my solution box.

What Unity's log says:

"NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    Weapon.Shoot () (at Assets/Scripts/Weapon.cs:56)
    Weapon.Update () (at Assets/Scripts/Weapon.cs:43)"

How it looks in MonoDevelop:

upload_2017-12-2_19-22-55.png

What I say:

"End my misery."

I am unbelievably grateful from this very moment to any hero that will answer my cry for help.

Cheers,
    Kevin

2. Suddoha

Suddoha

According to the error message, it's likely that the firepoint variable has not been assigned (i.e. it is null). That's the only thing in that line that would be able to cause the exception.

Make sure you assign an instance (apparently some Transform) to that variable, either via inspector or via code.

kevinbaranczyk likes this.
  3. Hikiko66

Hikiko66

It's a really common error, that usually relates to a different line of code that has a bug.
    You need to find out which object is null on the line throwing the error, then you can work out why.

You need to do yourself a favour and learn the basics of debugging, else finding errors will feel like a guessing game.
    I'm sure there are unity tutorials on this, but this should really be one of the first tutorials pushed at beginners.