Search Unity

Object oriented GUI

Discussion in 'Immediate Mode GUI (IMGUI)' started by CHPedersen, Mar 14, 2011.

1. CHPedersen

CHPedersen

Dear all,

This is not a bug report or anything, just my being curious about how the community feels about this, and whether others share my opinion. :)

I'm relatively new to Unity and have just spent a little while designing my first GUI in it, and have some comments. I'm not new to programming in general, and I find that the way one has to use the static functions in the GUI namespace to declare GUI elements sort of breaks the object oriented paradigm today's programmers are taught to follow. Many programmers new to Unity have backgrounds in Winforms, XAML/WPF or even Java Swing, all of which are object oriented GUI systems. I feel that Unity's GUI system forces users into a more scripting-style approach which has a tendency to very quickly result in verbose, cluttered code with lots of conditionals for button clicks and variables for storing the output of textfields, etc.

I'm struggling a little to find a way to keep things organized. I've decided to make my GUI class a partial class (I'm a C# programmer) so that I can separate code with clearly different behavior into different files without having to pass 10s of variables back and forth as method parameters, but I still get that unmistakable 'feeling' that I'm writing bad code. It's setting off my "code-smell"-detector, and I sorely miss C#'s usual event-driven GUI controls.

So, what are your experiences? What do you do to minimize clutter? And if you're a Unity employee, are there any plans for something more object oriented in the future?

2. KnifeFightBob

KnifeFightBob

First of a short disclaimer. Most of my heavier programming is restricted to Unity C# so I haven't done any normal platform programming except some Objective C. So, onwards.