Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Object keeps falling through plane

Discussion in 'Physics' started by joostvanpoppel, May 9, 2018.

1. joostvanpoppel

joostvanpoppel

Hi,

I'm pretty new to Unity and learning the physics. I created a simple plane and positioned a sphere and a prefab soldier above it. I attached a rigid body (use gravity off, is kinematic on) and a box collider. To the sphere I added a rigid body (use gravity on, is kinematic off), it had/has a sphere collider on creation. To my prefab soldier I added a rigidbody (use gravity on, is kinematic off) and added a Mesh Collider.

Upon running the game, the sphere stays on top of the plane but the soldier falls through the plane.
    Can you guys tell me what is happening? Has it something to do with the soldier being build from several parts? Any advise on solving this? (The soldier should stand on the plane)

thx in advance,
    Joost

Anikate25 likes this.
  2. dgoyette

dgoyette

Your MeshCollider doesn't have a mesh, so I don't think it has any actual collision.

Typically with models like that, you'd add a Capsule Collider instead of a Mesh Collider. Mesh Colliders are expensive, and usually you just want the character to behave like a box/capsule anyway. So I'd recommend removing that Mesh Collider, and replacing it with a Capsule Collider.

o12d and Tonymotion like this.
  3. joostvanpoppel

joostvanpoppel

The Capsule Collider works on the plane! Thanks for the advice...
    Also had the problem with a prefab terrian, also working now!

4. Tonymotion

Tonymotion

Thank you, Dgoyette! I had turned on kinematic on my moving object to keep it from falling through a surface, but they I was no longer able to AddForce to its rigid body. With the Capsule Collider, I can!