Search Unity

Object instance settings applied in designer mode...

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Gphysono, Nov 19, 2015.

1. Gphysono

Gphysono

I apologize if this is a stupid/repeated question.

I'm not new to programming, but I am new to the class libraries of Unity. I’m trying to write a script that allows the user to set the model color at design time.

I have the public color variable to hold the users selection and code that drills into the models material color and set it to the users selection. But the code is in the start event so the color change isn’t applied until runtime.

I’m using color coding to distinguish between multiple instances of the object so I’d really like to be able to drag the model into the scene, set its color and have it applied immediately.

What’s the technique for doing that?

Thanks!

2. StarManta

StarManta

You can use the [ExecuteInEditMode] attribute to make Update run in the editor. Just be aware that this runs Update (which you only sometimes want to be the same code as during play mode), so when I use it, I make sure that Update looks like this:
    Code (csharp):
    1. void Update() {
    2. if (Application.isPlaying) {
    3. }
    4. else {
    5. //editor code here
    6. }
    7. }
    Just so I don't accidentally start putting code intended for the editor inside something that'll also get run during play mode, and vice versa.

And be aware that Start/Awake won't necessarily be called when this is run in editor mode, so if you have to do stuff like caching GetComponent calls, make sure this is done in Update as needed rather than just in Start.

3. Nigey

Nigey

When you do this, do you need to worry about this affecting all instances using the same material? Will it only affect that single instance of the material?

4. StarManta

StarManta