Search Unity

Number of vertices/faces for game character

Discussion in 'Formats & External Tools' started by W01ff, Aug 16, 2011.

1. W01ff

W01ff

Hi,

I'm quite new to modelling (starting learning Blender by myself a few months ago in my sparse sparetime) and need some pointers as to how many vertices/faces are acceptable for a game character. I know this depends on the target platform, so for now, lets just say it is for a webplayer. The game I'm working on will not be a massive multiplayer, but will be quite simple with only a few assets on the screen at any time.

I have modelled a monkey (attached a picture) with 1349 vertices and 1354 faces once my mirror modifier will be applyed (info from Blender). If I add a level of subdivision surface this is bumbed up to roughly 5000 vertices/faces - this gives my the smoothness I'm looking for but is this too high?

I know I can bake a normal map from a higher resolution model - but will this help out smoothing the edges as well?

Finally, what is a good target size texture? Should I start high (like 2048x2048), and then scale it down (to say 512x512) once the texture is finished? And would it be best to use only a single material/texture for the entire model?

Hope for some good "rules of thumb" from some of you more experienced modellers. Any critique/advise on the model is also welcome - I'm here to learn ;o)

Cheers - W01ff

Attached Files:

2. TheCasual

TheCasual

nah , 5000 is fine. Alot of models avg around the 5-7k total when completed. Some modellers even go to extreme and take it up close to 10k.

For me , the comfortable zone is around 5-7k. You will find most times , half your polys is in the head, at least i do.

3. W01ff

W01ff

Thanks for your reply. You are right - most vertices are used on the head. Any one else have any input on the matter? Or anyone have comments on the model? I will continue work on him tonight, so feedback would be welcome.

4. W01ff

W01ff