Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object

Discussion in 'Code Editors & IDEs' started by prototype008, Mar 9, 2022.

1. prototype008

prototype008

Hi, I'm a beginner with unity and Visual Studio and I'm trying to work with "Learning C#..." book, but I have a problem that I can't fix no matter where I look or what I do, can someone help me?
    Code (CSharp):
    1. public class CameraBehavior : MonoBehaviour
    2. {
    3.     public Vector3 camOffset = new Vector3(0f, 1.2f, -2.6f);
    5.     private Transform Target;
    7.     void start()
    8.     {
    9.         Target = GameObject.Find("player").transform;
    10.     }
    12.     void LateUpdate()
    13.     {
    14.         this.transform.position = Target.TransformPoint(camOffset);
    15.         this.transform.LookAt(Target);
    16.     }
    17. }
    this is my whole code and my error is this:

NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    CameraBehavior.LateUpdate () (at Assets/Scrips/CameraBehavior.cs:20)

now I'm sure I have a "player" object but somehow it doesn't find it or something

Last edited: Mar 9, 2022
  2. SNoteBook

SNoteBook

The error's in the fourteenth line. Try replacing "position" with "localPosition".

And make the first letter of the "Start" method's name uppercase (just to make sure).

3. Baste

Baste

It's Start written as "start" that's the problem. Unity's magic methods are case-sensitive!

@SNoteBook the "use localPosition instead of position" advice is absolutely nonsensical. In the best case OP just ignores is, in the worst case you have thoroughly confused someone trying to learn. It's like telling somebody trying to learn maths that they have forgotten the cheese grater.