Search Unity

NullReferenceException in an empty project.

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Sorien, Dec 20, 2017.

  1. Sorien

    Sorien

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    I just started using Unity and created an empty project... when I try to "Play" it I get the following error:

    NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    UnityEditor.GridPaintingState.UnregisterPainterInterest (UnityEngine.Object painter) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Modules/TilemapEditor/Editor/Managed/Grid/GridPaintingState.cs:197)
    UnityEditor.GridPaintPaletteWindow.OnDisable () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Modules/TilemapEditor/Editor/Managed/Grid/GridPaintPaletteWindow.cs:565)

    This only happens if I have the "Tile Palette" window open. Any idea what's causing it?
     
    AlexanderKnorr and megadavido like this.
  2. cortexwayne

    cortexwayne

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Hi, Since I have updated to 2017.3 I have the same issue. I cannot select my Active Tilemap anymore from my Tile Palette to paint.
     
  3. VisamP

    VisamP

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    I'm getting the same error but it doesn't seem to cause any issues that I've found so far (other than an annoying error msg).
    It would be nice to know what's causing it and fix it though...
     
  4. DavidSof

    DavidSof

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    After updated to 2017.3 have same issue on empty project ,But I can still run the game
     
  5. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    4,419
    If you found a bug in Unity, it's recommended to submit a bug-report following the advice given in this document.

    Using the bug-reporter seems to be an important step, because it makes sure the report is in Unity Technologies bug-tracking pipeline, has to be processed at some point and you can kind of track if it's fixed. Using the forum is often used to add to a little more attention to a bug-report, but does not replace submitting the bug-report.

    It's from advantage to attach a project to the bug-report that UT can use to reproduce the issue and test their fix against. Attaching a video to the bug-report that shows how to reproduce the issue and the issue itself, has been proven useful too.

    The easier an issue can be reproduced by QA, the more likely it is to get forwarded to a developer, who might or might not work on a bug-fix for that at some point.

    After you submitted the bug-report, you receive a confirmation email with a Case number. UT often asks us to post the Case number in the forum thread, which allows them to find that bug-report if they look at your post.

    Following these steps will increase the chance that UT is looking at your issue tremendously.
     
    karl_jones likes this.
  6. TheDogfather

    TheDogfather

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    I'm getting the same error, I reinstalled unity but it doesn't help
     
  7. Nalfarvi

    Nalfarvi

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Posts:
    8
    Same in an empty project, since i used a tilemap in a previos project. Don't seems to be a real problem, but it would be better to not have this red line at the bottom :)
     
  8. megadavido

    megadavido

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    8

    "This only happens if I have the "Tile Palette" window open", very same for me.
     
    Akusan and mmmnt like this.
  9. rshmiraf

    rshmiraf

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Same - If i have the "Tile Pallete" closed there is no error.
     
    Akusan likes this.
  10. smurftra

    smurftra

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Can report I have the same issue.
     
  11. Toomblercazz

    Toomblercazz

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Same thing with me, doesn't seem to affect anything though.
     
  12. Fimiam

    Fimiam

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    the same error, but it hasn't brought any problems yet
     
  13. AlexanderKnorr

    AlexanderKnorr

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    They stated that they fixed the error but I am still encountering it on the newest version.
     
  14. sillyFrench

    sillyFrench

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    hello, having this problem too, guess not fixed yet?
     
  15. gregorypierce

    gregorypierce

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Posts:
    388
    Seems to be a common problem. Confused the hell outta my students this weekend. People kept coming up telling me about the error and thinking they had broken their game.
     
  16. bdilloughery

    bdilloughery

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2017
    Posts:
    16
    Same for me, Thank you for the fix (closing the Tile Palette window)
     
  17. mmmnt

    mmmnt

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Same here. Disappears if "Tile Palette" window cloased
     
    Akusan likes this.
  18. TeohRIK

    TeohRIK

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Posts:
    89
    This a common editor window error. From my experience, the error will normally come out if the project I now open don't have the editor window script I open from last project, but it not going to affect anything.
     
unityunity