Search Unity

  1. Are you interested in providing feedback directly to Unity teams? Sign up to become a member of Unity Pulse, our new product feedback and research community.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity Now Available - Native Apple Silicon Editor Preview Builds

Discussion in '2021.2 Beta' started by KevinWelton, Jun 8, 2021.

  1. Saurabh7SSR

    Saurabh7SSR

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    Easier option is to click on the red-warnings toggle on the top-right corner of console. If you have a "all compiler errors must be fixed to play" error then un-toggle and check the error. Ignore all warnings where "Burst" word appears.
     
  2. youssefsbs8

    youssefsbs8

    Joined:
    May 2, 2021
    Posts:
    4
    when I edit on player setting this is what happen i can not edit Player setting anymore even if i restart editor
     

    Attached Files:

  3. youssefsbs8

    youssefsbs8

    Joined:
    May 2, 2021
    Posts:
    4
    Delete Package Folder from finder and let unity recreate it this disable burst completely no more warning :)
     
    Saurabh7SSR and Hendrik-Mans like this.
  4. Erfan_SheikhHoseini

    Erfan_SheikhHoseini

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2019
    Posts:
    28
    i am surprised that no one experienced crashes. unity just closes after about 30 seconds after i open urp sample scene.
    latest unity m1 and mac os.
     
  5. Hendrik-Mans

    Hendrik-Mans

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    18
    I had this problem with the first Silicon beta after creating a new URP project, but only once. I've since been using the Silicon betas to work on my (relatively simple) game, and other than the Burst related warnings, things have been relatively stable (two crashes, both while using the asset picker to assign inspector properties).

    For reference, this is on an 8/8 core M1 Mac Mini with 16 GB RAM.
     
  6. aVolnov

    aVolnov

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Posts:
    43
    Glad to report that a 16GB M1 Air enters playmode faster on native b3 than a 2019 maxed Intel MBP with an i9 and 64 gigs of RAM.
    Playmode times on the same project:
    Intel core i9 9980HK (U2020.3.13): 11 sec
    M1 Rosetta (U2020.3.13): 17 sec
    M1 Native (U2021.2.0b3): 8 sec

    I'm yet to do compile tests and such but this is very promising. A $1500 cool fanless machine is doing better than a $4k thermal monstrosity. Hope to see Unity M1 release builds soon.
     
    Tanner555 and Saurabh7SSR like this.
  7. Saurabh7SSR

    Saurabh7SSR

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    Imagine if the 2021 MacBook Pro 16 M1X rumours are true -
    10 Core CPU - 8 high performance cores
    32 Core GPU
    64 GB RAM

    So long Big Fat GPU's!!!
     
    Tanner555, aVolnov and MousePods like this.
  8. BBO_Lagoon

    BBO_Lagoon

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2017
    Posts:
    99
    Hi,
    On my Macbook Pro M1 8Gb, each time I try to set texture to any crunched format (ETC2/DXT5/DXT1), the editor crash when I hit the apply button.
    Anyone else have this problem ?
    I reported a bug but the tech team can't reproduce the bug, it would be helpful if anyone else can share their feedback.
     
  9. sameng

    sameng

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Posts:
    60
    Thanks for the numbers!
    Would love to know how long your project takes to enter playmode with intel i9 on the same 2021.2.0b3 as a software comparison.
     
  10. aVolnov

    aVolnov

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Posts:
    43
    I will do that comparison eventually, for now I'm battling some hard to repro bugs in the beta lol. I do realize it's not as valid a comparison without equivalent versions on both machines, especially considering some of the speed improvements 2021 seems to have gotten
     
  11. Saurabh7SSR

    Saurabh7SSR

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    Enter playmode is irrelevant with the new Enter Playmode Fast option ticked. It is in milliseconds, practically live reload like from Google Flutter!

    Same here. I just use beta for stripped down level design and then add Burst compiler tech in 2020 LTS.
     
  12. sameng

    sameng

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Posts:
    60
    I meant enter playmode without skipping domain reload, which is what I thought aVolnov was testing.

    Yes, I love the configurable enter play mode you mentioned very much, it lets you enter playmode super fast if you haven't changed any scripts.

    Enter playmode is not irrelevant, because if you do change any script, this "Enter Playmode Fast" option (which is actually unticking "Reload Domain") option does not work. By changing any script, Unity must recompile/reload domain. It takes ages.

    This is what I'm interested in--how long does it take from changing a script -> enter playmode.
     
    PutridEx likes this.
  13. Saurabh7SSR

    Saurabh7SSR

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    Yes on both 2021.2 and 2020 LTS script change recompile/reload in milliseconds every time. To be honest I expected it to slow down but even after ton of third party assets I never felt the need to adjust scripts for static variables.
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2021
  14. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    8,154
    It compiles in miliseconds? No it doesn't. Are you talking about a different thing?
     
  15. Saurabh7SSR

    Saurabh7SSR

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    Well I honestly just rechecked and it does take the recompile time on script change, got so used to it didn't notice.:)
    Same Scene, Same Script change on 2020 LTS / 2021.2 beta comparison respectively:
    Enter Playmode time- 5333ms / 2400ms
    Enter Playmode Fast- 69ms/61ms
    Script Recompile time-20251ms/6737ms

    Recompile time is 13 seconds or 3x faster on M1 native.
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2021
    trilobyteme likes this.
  16. aVolnov

    aVolnov

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Posts:
    43
    My times were without using the new 'Enter Play Mode Options' at all as those don't really work with my particular project, I was using them as a general sort of measure of how the machines' performance compares.
     
  17. Saurabh7SSR

    Saurabh7SSR

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Posts:
    30
  18. sameng

    sameng

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Posts:
    60
    Thanks for the stats.

    Very happy to see that script compilation / domain reload is approximately 3x faster on native apple silicon editor.

    I wanted to bench my project but unfortunately the 2021.2 native beta can't even import my project, it crashes constantly. (works on intel editor thru rosetta)

    I can't wait for the full release of native 2021 editor.

    Keep up the great work Unity team!
     
  19. Bobbiii

    Bobbiii

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2019
    Posts:
    10
  20. Bobbiii

    Bobbiii

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2019
    Posts:
    10
  21. hlongvu

    hlongvu

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    Is the new Unity Hub 3.0.0 beta supoprt Apple M1 in installing this new beta?
     
  22. Saurabh7SSR

    Saurabh7SSR

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    Unity Hub 3.0 beta is in a very bad state. Beta editors are like sandboxes and we are encouraged to break them, but a Beta Hub that is interfering with old production install configurations is dangerous.
    Also Hub tries to overwrite Apple Native installs with intel ones if you try both. Better Use this link for Unity 2021.2.0b4: https://unity3d.com/unity/beta/2021.2.0b4
    It will show up in any hub.
     
    MousePods and hlongvu like this.
  23. gamingstudio17

    gamingstudio17

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Posts:
    59
    Can it be defeated?
     

    Attached Files:

  24. gamingstudio17

    gamingstudio17

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Posts:
    59
    Unity crashes if you insert a meta file into the project from the previous version of Unity 2019.3.14f1 with the crunch compression option enabled

    meta file code:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. fileFormatVersion: 2
    2. guid: bed6d8d528ae84740aa4eb0a93d1c759
    3. TextureImporter:
    4.   internalIDToNameTable: []
    5.   externalObjects: {}
    6.   serializedVersion: 11
    7.   mipmaps:
    8.     mipMapMode: 0
    9.     enableMipMap: 0
    10.     sRGBTexture: 1
    11.     linearTexture: 0
    12.     fadeOut: 0
    13.     borderMipMap: 0
    14.     mipMapsPreserveCoverage: 0
    15.     alphaTestReferenceValue: 0.5
    16.     mipMapFadeDistanceStart: 1
    17.     mipMapFadeDistanceEnd: 3
    18.   bumpmap:
    19.     convertToNormalMap: 0
    20.     externalNormalMap: 0
    21.     heightScale: 0.25
    22.     normalMapFilter: 0
    23.   isReadable: 0
    24.   streamingMipmaps: 0
    25.   streamingMipmapsPriority: 0
    26.   grayScaleToAlpha: 0
    27.   generateCubemap: 6
    28.   cubemapConvolution: 0
    29.   seamlessCubemap: 0
    30.   textureFormat: 1
    31.   maxTextureSize: 2048
    32.   textureSettings:
    33.     serializedVersion: 2
    34.     filterMode: -1
    35.     aniso: -1
    36.     mipBias: -100
    37.     wrapU: 1
    38.     wrapV: 1
    39.     wrapW: 1
    40.   nPOTScale: 0
    41.   lightmap: 0
    42.   compressionQuality: 50
    43.   spriteMode: 1
    44.   spriteExtrude: 1
    45.   spriteMeshType: 1
    46.   alignment: 0
    47.   spritePivot: {x: 0.5, y: 0.5}
    48.   spritePixelsToUnits: 33
    49.   spriteBorder: {x: 0, y: 0, z: 0, w: 0}
    50.   spriteGenerateFallbackPhysicsShape: 1
    51.   alphaUsage: 1
    52.   alphaIsTransparency: 1
    53.   spriteTessellationDetail: -1
    54.   textureType: 8
    55.   textureShape: 1
    56.   singleChannelComponent: 0
    57.   maxTextureSizeSet: 0
    58.   compressionQualitySet: 0
    59.   textureFormatSet: 0
    60.   applyGammaDecoding: 0
    61.   platformSettings:
    62.   - serializedVersion: 3
    63.     buildTarget: DefaultTexturePlatform
    64.     maxTextureSize: 2048
    65.     resizeAlgorithm: 0
    66.     textureFormat: -1
    67.     textureCompression: 1
    68.     compressionQuality: 50
    69.     crunchedCompression: 1
    70.     allowsAlphaSplitting: 0
    71.     overridden: 0
    72.     androidETC2FallbackOverride: 0
    73.     forceMaximumCompressionQuality_BC6H_BC7: 0
    74.   - serializedVersion: 3
    75.     buildTarget: Standalone
    76.     maxTextureSize: 2048
    77.     resizeAlgorithm: 0
    78.     textureFormat: -1
    79.     textureCompression: 1
    80.     compressionQuality: 50
    81.     crunchedCompression: 1
    82.     allowsAlphaSplitting: 0
    83.     overridden: 0
    84.     androidETC2FallbackOverride: 0
    85.     forceMaximumCompressionQuality_BC6H_BC7: 0
    86.   - serializedVersion: 3
    87.     buildTarget: Android
    88.     maxTextureSize: 2048
    89.     resizeAlgorithm: 0
    90.     textureFormat: -1
    91.     textureCompression: 1
    92.     compressionQuality: 50
    93.     crunchedCompression: 1
    94.     allowsAlphaSplitting: 0
    95.     overridden: 0
    96.     androidETC2FallbackOverride: 0
    97.     forceMaximumCompressionQuality_BC6H_BC7: 0
    98.   spriteSheet:
    99.     serializedVersion: 2
    100.     sprites: []
    101.     outline: []
    102.     physicsShape: []
    103.     bones: []
    104.     spriteID: 5e97eb03825dee720800000000000000
    105.     internalID: 0
    106.     vertices: []
    107.     indices:
    108.     edges: []
    109.     weights: []
    110.     secondaryTextures: []
    111.   spritePackingTag:
    112.   pSDRemoveMatte: 0
    113.   pSDShowRemoveMatteOption: 0
    114.   userData:
    115.   assetBundleName:
    116.   assetBundleVariant:
    117.  
     
  25. BBO_Lagoon

    BBO_Lagoon

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2017
    Posts:
    99
    @gamingstudio17, Hi so I'm not alone, do you have problem only with previous unity version meta files ? Did you tried to use crunch compression on a new texture ? For me even on a blank project with new texture file the editor crash when I set the texture compression as crunched.
     
  26. IndieFist

    IndieFist

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Posts:
    458
    Reading the complete thread, maybe is not a good idea to get a m1 device right now really? i want to renew my imac and i think is better to get the intel one?
     
  27. aVolnov

    aVolnov

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Posts:
    43
    It's really not the best time right now to get a new intel mac. The Unity M1 beta works fine mostly, and for production builds there's always Rosetta. Depending on your needs and project scope you could wait for M1X Macs (by then the software will be more ready as well) or spring for the current M1 ones and go with the few growing pains they're experiencing right now.
     
    IndieFist and MasoInar like this.
  28. jaslan

    jaslan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Posts:
    9
    It's the best time to get a M1, we probably see Unity running smoothly native on Apple Silicon in few months for production and now, it's works better on Rosetta emulation than native on Intel processors.
     
    IndieFist and MousePods like this.
  29. jaslan

    jaslan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Posts:
    9
    PutridEx likes this.
  30. IndieFist

    IndieFist

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Posts:
    458
    Thanks guys for reply! i have to renew my computer and a bit tired of fighitng with this >.<
    Last time i was tested m1 it was a really poor on performance, maybe right now works better i will try again with this latest beta
     
  31. gamingstudio17

    gamingstudio17

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Posts:
    59
    I just deleted the metafiles so unity would re-create them.
     
  32. gamingstudio17

    gamingstudio17

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Posts:
    59

    Attached Files:

  33. lawsonh

    lawsonh

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Posts:
    54
    It seems like the apple native releases has not been keeping up with the vanilla releases
     
  34. sk0g

    sk0g

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2021
    Posts:
    32
    No, the release pages include the AS editors too now. This thread gets updated once they've vetted the new releases, which does take more time though. For example, the beta 5 page has a link pointing to below:

    https://beta.unity3d.com/download/c11a42e94ab9/MacEditorInstallerArm64/Unity.pkg
     
    lawsonh likes this.
  35. lawsonh

    lawsonh

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Posts:
    54
    I just tried beta 5 on an M1 mac mini with an existing project (deleted Library folder). It gets stuck during import on an image Compress step. I also tried the beta 2 and got the same issue.
     
  36. lawsonh

    lawsonh

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Posts:
    54
    i fixed it by making a new project, going to unity preferences > disable compress assets on import.
     
  37. gamingstudio17

    gamingstudio17

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Posts:
    59
    Yes, I wrote about it, and sent a bug report. It's strange that this problem was not fixed.
     
  38. jaslan

    jaslan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Posts:
    9
    PutridEx likes this.
  39. jaslan

    jaslan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Posts:
    9
    Probably will be fixed on nexts releases
     
  40. adslitw

    adslitw

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Posts:
    167
    @KevinWelton @Phil_Z - do you have any indication of how likely we are to see all your hard work backported to 2020 / 2019?
     
  41. lawsonh

    lawsonh

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Posts:
    54
  42. NovaEiz

    NovaEiz

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Posts:
    52
    Will this editor be available on the iPad?
     
  43. ryanmillerca

    ryanmillerca

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Posts:
    108
    No, sorry.
     
  44. adslitw

    adslitw

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Posts:
    167
  45. dejanpej

    dejanpej

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    When I run the beta2 editor I downloaded from the link that was posted above, I get the "<Rosetta>" string in the title bar? Is this expected? Am I still running the native version? I'm asking because my project actually runs slower than with the non-native editor.

    Screenshot 2021-08-09 at 20.34.54.png

    Btw, it's the same with beta6 I downloaded from the hub.
     
  46. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    8,773
    If it says rosetta, you are not running the native editor. Also, hub does not yet support downloading the native Apple silicon editor. You need to download this:

    upload_2021-8-9_12-46-7.png
     
    dejanpej likes this.
  47. KevinWelton

    KevinWelton

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Posts:
    160
    Hi everyone. I want to give you an update on the crashes people are seeing in URP.

    By default, URP uses the CPU lightmapper. This presents a problem as our CPU lightmapper uses a library that isn't ported to Apple silicon. We are looking at our options for how to handle this in the final release, but we are making a change right now that will disable the CPU lightmapper on Apple silicon editor builds, instead redirecting users to the GPU lightmapper.

    I know it's been a pain for those of you facing this crash. I appreciate you bearing with us. We are in the process of testing the change right now, so it should be in an upcoming build soon.
     
  48. marcostmorais

    marcostmorais

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Hey, Kevin! Thank you so much for the update and for all the hard work!

    Just noticed that a new build was released yesterday, does the 2021.2.0b7 build already feature the GPU Lightmapper on URP?

    Thank you!
     
  49. KevinWelton

    KevinWelton

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Posts:
    160
    It does not. We're still putting the finishing touches on it.
     
  50. tokoronyori

    tokoronyori

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Updated to Unity 2021.2.0b7 for m1 native. I'm amazed at the great potential it has to reduce all the waiting time that was stressing me out in my work.
    However, Collaborate was not functioning at all. No matter how many republishes I do, the Republish Changes column is not empty, even though the changes are added to the History...
    I think this is a bug only in the m1 version, because I can use Collaborate in the Intel version without any problem.
     
unityunity