Search Unity

Notes or No?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Jawile23, Jan 17, 2020.

1. Jawile23

Jawile23

Hello! So I'm a super newbie just trying Unity out, and with following courses and all I've been taking notes on the information taught. However it's kind of slowed my pacing with learning, and although I'm in no rush I just want to learn in the most effective way possible. Is it worth it to take notes or is it better to just keep doing courses and projects until info is drilled into my memory?

2. DaDonik

DaDonik

When you start taking notes of the things you learn, you will need a forest worth of paper.
    Then you have a big pile of papers where you can't do Ctrl + F to find something you need.

Your most important skill is knowing how to use google. Noone here knows everything.
    We all google stuff we forgot, but the trick is to know what to google.
    You will gain that wisdom by reading a lot of tutorials, papers, etc.

Jawile23 likes this.
  3. Antypodish

Antypodish

Practicing is nearly always best way to learn.
    Taking notes may help, but these should be only keywords, rather than copying what was said in tutorials.

Practice, practice, again practice. Try thing on your own. Experiment. Then back to documentation and bits of theory, if necessary. And repeat.

Jawile23 likes this.
  4. Inxentas

Inxentas

Why take notes when you already have such documentation? It's more worthwhile to get familiar with the Unity lingo and C# syntax. I have been programming for 20 years and there hasn't been a day where I didn't use Google to check up on the particulars of some native method. Someone that can remember them all is quite the savant.