Search Unity

Unity's version control component has been upgraded to Plastic SCM.

Noob question with using collab with a team

Discussion in 'Unity Collaborate' started by pyroorb, Apr 10, 2017.

1. pyroorb

pyroorb

So, my team as been learning Unity to do better things with VR. We all have a edit/motion graphics background. For the most part we have picked this up relatively easily with the need to code. My question is with collab is there any workaround where we can all work in the project, and be able to merge the changes without having to manually go through the code?

I've been looking around and it seems there isn't. We though maybe it would be easy if someone was working on lighting and someone was working on interactions, but that hasn't been the case..

Like I said, I'm new to Unity and looked, but wanted to double check that I didn't miss something and there is an easy way to do this.

Thanks

2. Ryan-Unity

Ryan-Unity

Hi @pyroorb! I'm happy to hear that your team has started learning Unity! When it comes to merging code changes, there are limits to what can be done automatically. If you and a teammate edit different lines of code in the same file then your changes have a good chance of being auto-merged. But if you both touched the same lines of code, then a conflict will pop up that will need to be resolved.

With Collab, you do have the option of either picking your whole file, your teammate's file, or launching an external merge tool to pick which lines of code you want to keep. There are free tools that let you do this, such as DiffMerge, (Mac's come with File Merge already installed).

So to answer your question, yes, Collab can auto-merge your changes if they don't overlap. But if they do, then there is no software out there smarter than you when it comes to picking whose changes to keep. I hope that answers your question and best of luck in whatever you team decides to make!

3. pyroorb

pyroorb