Search Unity

Noob Question, how can I fix my game's performance issues?

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by ChillPalace, May 25, 2021.

1. ChillPalace

ChillPalace

Hey all, I'm a bit new to Unity, and I'm trying to fix an issue that's cropped up with my game's performance.

I have a worldspace that I'm currently working on, and I've been using this grass asset to make it look stylized and nice- https://assetstore.unity.com/packages/3d/vegetation/plants/stylized-grass-wind-194396

I used Prefab Brush to copy and paste a selection of grass prefabs (about 5 variations) across the terrain. At first it was going really well, but now that I've covered the entire terrain, Unity is having trouble processing all the grass.

It's gotten to the point to where I can barely move in the editor without turning it into a slideshow, and if I try to delete a game object I get slapped with an infinite loading screen.

Naturally this is getting in the way of continuing work on the project, so I started looking into solutions to make the game perform better. I've already made every grass prefab static, and while that helped some I still get the infinite loading screen when trying to remove objects, and a low framerate in denser parts of the terrain.

What are some ways I can go about fixing this?

(Not sure if it's useful in this situation, but I do have Microsplat and Aura).

2. UnityLighting

UnityLighting

3. warthos3399

warthos3399

Ok, first of all, you havent provided enough information for us to clearly help (screenshots, video, unity version, etc.) of said problem. So with the little info you did give, heres a few things i hear and notice.

Stylized Grass + Wind: is URP only, and even if your using URP, notice that theres 0 reviews for that asset. You need to investigate better assets that have better performance. Also if you are trying to use a high density of grass, (per patch) thats going to cost you on the performance side.