Search Unity

noob question for blender!

Discussion in 'Asset Importing & Exporting' started by XDSoftworks, Sep 23, 2017.

1. XDSoftworks

XDSoftworks

hi im new to modeling in blender and just imported a new addon for a character into blender from another modeling application and am looking to fix a hard edge that breaks smooth shading. i have already combined the meshes but am looking on getting rid of the hard edge. is there any way to join the vertices in edit mode? i recalculated normals and looked through the blender forums and found: use ctrl + j, everywhere i went. would the objects importing as separate instances affect this too?

thanks in advance.

2. N1warhead

N1warhead

A photo of it may help us better understand, every case is different...

3. Kiwasi

Kiwasi

I assume there are also a blender community? While they can't be as awesome as us, they might be able to provide more specific guidance.

4. nipoco

nipoco

Select the mesh, press W and choose "remove doubles"

Natvandrer likes this.
  5. neginfinity

neginfinity

Blender community is not very useful. If the op posts a picture, it will be easier to give some advice.

In general one possible problem is that blender doesn't have smoothing groups. It is either shade smooth /flat or edge split modifier.

Either way. To merge multiple vertices, select them, then press alt+m, then select an option from the menu that shows up.

6. XDSoftworks

XDSoftworks