Search Unity

Question [noob] How to pass a method and property by reference to a function

Discussion in 'HMI & Embedded Systems' started by Ascanio1980, Mar 14, 2021.

1. Ascanio1980

Ascanio1980

Hello there,

I am looking to build an easing class with static methods that I can use to programmatically animate properties of game objects, similarly to what you with do with GSAP in JS/AS3.

proto code:

Code (CSharp):
    1. MyEasingClass.animateTo(GameObject.property, FinalValue, MyEasingFunctions.easeOutCubic, Duration);
    I am new to C# and it looks like properties are not referenced in function arguments: values are sent.
    How would I go about this?

To accelerate development and avoid IDE as much as possible, I would want to use static methods and not have to attach the script as a component to any object. I was thinking about hooking into the target GameObject's Update function to drive a frame-based loop, regardless of whether the duration would be specified in frames or in time (in the second case I'd check the elapsed time between frames, rather that counting how many frames have elapsed).

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated!

2. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

Any reason you're not just using DOTWeen or ITween or any one of dozens of other free tweening packages? All this code has been written many times before... I mean if you want the exercise, I'd start by looking at what they did, it's all pretty simple stuff in Unity.

There is also just the underlying basic Unity animation. It works really really well and you can instantly author more animations right in the editor.

3. Ascanio1980

Ascanio1980

Hi Kurt-Decker,

thanks for your reply. Let me respond point by point:
    • I want to exercise and learn, while building my own shelf-stuff to accelerate development.