Search Unity

Noob ask: How hard could be... And where to start a game

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Mr_Ramires, May 16, 2018.

1. Mr_Ramires

Mr_Ramires

Hi guys.

I'm a noob designer and I have an idea of a sidescroll space shooter. In this game there'll be a fight with a HUGE boss, where the ship will scroll around the boss destroying guns, cannons, turrets and the hull to weaken the boss. The player will progress to the next sector only after destroy the current sector leaving the hardest for last.
    My questions are: Since I'm new with everything (I'm currently taking lessons of C# and Unity) I'm wondering how much time will I take to acomplish such a thing. An year it's a resonable amount of time?
    Another question: Is there any tool to help on the task (script boss behaviour)?
    Bonus question: If I want my boss to drop bonuses after destroyed parts, how do I search this kind function in the Unity documentation? I guess this is my bigest doubt... For example: to make the player navigate the screen we use TRANSLATE. I learned this recently but I had no idea how to start if I was by myself :p
    I posted a simple storyboard frame of the fight to help understanding.
    Space Game Storyboard.jpg
    That's it. ANY help will be much appreciated.

Many many many thks to you all.

Gigiwoo likes this.
  2. Martin_H

Martin_H

You can go through tutorials at https://unity3d.com/learn
    or you can read the manual to discover what you can do and how you do it. Be aware the documentation is split behind the scripting api reference:

https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/index.html

and the manual:

https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/UnityOverview.html