Search Unity

Non-intrusive textures and icons

Discussion in 'Editor Workflows' started by Catsoft-Studios, Dec 11, 2020.

1. Catsoft-Studios

Catsoft-Studios

Hi! I wanted to share the approach I'm currently taking to include Editor textures for components in the Inspector and Gizmos.

Motivation

What's driving my motivation is that I'm a tool-scripting Asset Store developer, so all textures included in my packages are not supposed to be used by the end-user.

Screenshot 2020-12-11 at 09.52.14.png

If I include textures as standard objects, these can be seen in the floating window of any Texture object picker, which pollutes their project and messes their organisation.

Our approach

So, instead of dropping in a PNG texture inside the Unity folder and using the path to that texture in the Editor script, I create a
    byte[]
    array that contains the raw data of the PNG and reconstruct it whenever it's needed, using the
    Texture2D.LoadRawTextureData

Screenshot 2020-12-11 at 09.32.06.png

Then, I can easily create a script that inherits from a custom class called TextureRaw and use it to cache the values in a static dictionary, in case they are later needed.

Code (CSharp):
    1. public abstract class TextureRaw
    2. {
    3.     private static readonly Dictionary<int, Texture2D> Cache = new Dictionary<int, Texture2D>();
    5.     protected abstract byte[] Raw { get; }
    7.     public Texture2D Texture
    8.     {
    9.         get
    10.         {
    11.             // uses the Cache dictionary to check if the texture has been loaded.
    12.             // If so, return the cached value. If not, load it from Raw, save
    13.             // it in the Cache dictionary using its hashcode as the key and return it.
    14.             // Note: So far hashcode doesn't give collisions, but I guess it could
    15.             // return a false collision. This may need some further thought.
    16.         }
    17.     }
    18. }