Search Unity

Non-game mobile app: Use Unity, or learn something new?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by casimps1, Oct 29, 2013.

1. casimps1

casimps1

So, I'd consider myself a fairly experienced Unity developer. I've been using Unity professionally as my day job for almost 2 years now. I can make stuff in Unity very quickly because I know it so well.

Recently, I've been thinking about a mobile app I want to create, but it's not a game. Really, it would just be UI elements - mostly text and maybe a few icons. And now I need to decide if I should use Unity to make it or something else.

I already have and know Unity, and I also have an NGUI license to help handle all the UI that would be necessary. I also don't have any experience with other cross-platform frameworks (w/ the exception of Appcelerator, I did mess around with that very briefly a few years ago), so doing this in any other framework would require some learning curve. All that makes me lean toward trying to do the app in Unity.

But I also know that building w/ Unity would incur significant overhead loading the 3D engine, so the app load time and file size wouldn't be ideal. Not a huge deal, but I'd also have to display the Unity splash screen (I don't have a pro license).

So, I wanted to get some opinions from others. Would you recommend building a non-game, non-3D app in Unity? Or would you recommend learning some other cross-platform framework?

Note that I'm only interested in cross-platform solutions. Although I know Java and the Android SDK, I have zero interest in learning Objective C for iOS. I'm looking for something where I maintain a single code base. I'm also only interested in free or almost free solutions.

Thanks in advance for your input!

2. proandrius

proandrius

Unity Technologies

I have some experience in making non-game apps with Unity and it's quite good. Might be tricky if you want to use built-in Unity GUI.

3. casimps1

casimps1