Search Unity

  1. We've closed the job boards. If you're looking for work, or looking to hire check out Unity Connect. You can see more information here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2017.3 has arrived! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

No stack traces on iOS

Discussion in 'Unity Game Performance Reporting Preview' started by tiksa, Jan 25, 2017.

  1. tiksa

    tiksa

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Hello all,

    I've seen many threads where the problem has been that there are no stack traces on Android. However, we have an iOS Unity app with Performance reporting but we don't get stack traces, at least in most cases.

    For example, one of the errors that occur most often is:
    NullReferenceException: A null value was found where an object instance was required.

    That was the 'Message', and 'Stack trace' is empty.

    One type of the errors is simply with message:
    NullReferenceException
    and no stack trace.

    We use Unity 5.4 with IL2CPP.

    Any ideas how to fix this? Thank you!
     
  2. thomasn_unity

    thomasn_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    59
    Hi tiksa,

    This is a known issue. Unfortunately I don't have an estimate on a fix at this time.
     
  3. gegagome

    gegagome

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    265
    I pushed an iOS update using 5.5.1p4 and I am having the same problem.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks
     
  4. GerardInc

    GerardInc

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Could this be related to Xcode's bitcode option? Ever since we enabled it, it stopped working. Although we also upgraded Unity to version 5.4.4f1
     
  5. GerardInc

    GerardInc

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    After disabling bitcode, stack traces started to work again.
     
  6. gegagome

    gegagome

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    265
    Interesting. Have to try it in my next update.

    Thanks
     
  7. samizzo

    samizzo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Posts:
    293
    This is happening to me in 5.4.3f1. So is disabling bitcode the workaround, then? Can someone from Unity look into this?
     
  8. thomasn_unity

    thomasn_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    59
    Hmm, somehow I missed the post here that says having bitcode enabled corresponds to whether stack traces are blank. I'll investigate that ASAP.
     
  9. samizzo

    samizzo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Posts:
    293
    Thank you!
     
  10. thomasn_unity

    thomasn_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    59
    I tested it and unfortunately, having bitcode enabled doesn't cause the missing stack trace issue to reproduce in my test project. If anyone out there has an iOS project that will reliably produce crash reports with empty stack traces, please submit a bug with your project attached.
     
  11. samizzo

    samizzo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Posts:
    293
    Thanks. I was actually a bit sceptical that it would make any difference!
     
  12. amjaliks

    amjaliks

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    Posts:
    78
    As I see here is quite a lot of threads related to missing stack traces from iOS builds. And most of these threads end with @thomasn_unity post where he asking to share a project. But this issue seems to be really widespread. I doubt only a small fraction of projects are affected.

    From my subjective experience affected builds are the ones distributed through App Store servers (both production and TestFlight builds).
    Local builds deployed directly from Xcode seem to send full stack traces to Performance Reporting. But this is not enough. My local builds appear to be solid as rock and stable as f£%&. :cool: And all "fun" with crashed happens on end-user devices. :(
     
  13. Baraphor

    Baraphor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2016
    Posts:
    17
    Has there been any update here, I would love to get stack traces for iOS, We have a large project that someone from Unity can look at @thomasn_unity.
     
  14. sevensails

    sevensails

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Posts:
    452
    I have the same problem on Android. Some very frequent bugs reported with No Stack Trace.