Search Unity

No Stack Strace on iOS

Discussion in 'Unity Cloud Diagnostics' started by pokersquare, Jan 23, 2017.

  1. pokersquare

    pokersquare

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    Hi,

    I am using Unity Performance Monitoring and i can see many NullPointerException but there is no stack trace. The exception we are getting is

    Code (CSharp):
    1. NullReferenceException: A null value was found where an object instance was required.
    Can somebody help what could be the issue. I am using Unity 5.4.4p1. How can we know whether this issue leads to crash or not?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 24, 2017
  2. thomasn_unity

    thomasn_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    60
    Hi pokersquare,

    This is a known issue. Unfortunately I don't have an estimate on a fix at this time.
     
  3. pokersquare

    pokersquare

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks Thomas.
    By any chance, is this fixed in 5.5 or 5.6 versions of unity? Are there any other work arounds to find out the root cause? Or, at least, can we know if this causes a crash or not?
     
  4. MardukCorp

    MardukCorp

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Posts:
    76
    This is not fixed in 5.5, because I'm getting these type of "empty" exceptions in 5.5 too.
     
  5. gegagome

    gegagome

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    331
    Same thing on 5.5.1 p4
     
  6. gegagome

    gegagome

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    331
  7. gegagome

    gegagome

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    331
    Using 5.6.1f and I still don't get stack traces after getting update approved on Apple's App Store

    Any ideas?
     
  8. l33t_p33t

    l33t_p33t

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    Any update on this? Workarounds?
     
  9. ryanc-unity

    ryanc-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    1,317
    Hi @gegagome and @l33t_p33t! I'm sorry that you're both running into this issue. Could both of you submit a bug report (in the Editor, go to Help->Report a Bug) with steps on how to repro the issue? After you get an email from Fogbugz post your bug number here so I can look them up. That would really help us out in coming up with a fix.