Search Unity

Bug No shadows on URP

Discussion in 'VR' started by Liminal-Ridges, Nov 30, 2022.

1. Liminal-Ridges

Liminal-Ridges

I have a urp project for quest 2. In unity the shadows work fine (id like to be able to increase the strength more), on the device they are nonexistent. Any idea? I use point lights. Box lights are enabled.

2. DevDunk

DevDunk

Which unity version?
    Vulkan or OpenGL?
    Single pass/multiview or multipass?
    Did you also try to get shadows with spotlights or directional light? (point lights are crazy expensive btw)
    Do you use the same Graphics quality tier in both editor and android? If not, do that

3. Liminal-Ridges

Liminal-Ridges

I have been using unity for 11 years and didnt know you can change platform default quality. Lights fixed but the shadows are weak. I have strength to 1. Is there a way to make them more visible? Im on Unity latest LTS, with openGL3 and multiview. Problem is now the camera movement very laggy. I guess its the fps low

4. DevDunk

DevDunk

1. What do you mean stronger? Do you mean more visible? If so, go to lighting settings - environment and here change ambience lighting and other parameters
    2. That could be. Quest standalone isn't that strong and needs a lot of optimization. Running the profiler might help (or hire me if needed (; )

5. Liminal-Ridges

Liminal-Ridges

Thank you but that didnt work. Ambient color just makes the whole scene darker. I managed to increase the fps with baked light :D

DevDunk likes this.
  6. DevDunk

DevDunk

Baked always is better for performance. Using BakedLit shaders will be an even bigger move

7. Liminal-Ridges

Liminal-Ridges

Unfortunately that shader is S***. Thankfully Lit does the job without dropping the fps! Problem is my line renderer (mobile>particles>additive) and textmeshpro texts are invisible now

8. Liminal-Ridges

Liminal-Ridges

also when baking it only bakes shadows for one light source in the scene, i got two point lights

9. DevDunk