Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

No shadows on Android

Discussion in 'Android' started by DaneTheRock, Oct 17, 2017.

  1. DaneTheRock

    DaneTheRock

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    Has anyone experienced any issue with real time lighting for Android projects? I have tried the following

    Direction Light with : Hard Shadows, Very High Resolution, default everything else

    Project Settings/ Quality : Hard and soft shadows, Very High resolution, shadow distance = 50, default everything else

    All settings in Lighting as default (except changing environment source to colour)

    Cast and receive shadows is on for every object

    Phone : Samsung S7

    And the damn thing still won't work, any ideas
     
  2. aleksandrk

    aleksandrk

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Posts:
    1,620
    Hi!
    Which version of Unity do you use?
    Which graphics API?
     
    xuqi likes this.
  3. DaneTheRock

    DaneTheRock

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    Hi! Thanks for the quick reply!

    2017.1.0f3, and how do I did find the graphics API?
     
    MilosPolo likes this.
  4. aleksandrk

    aleksandrk

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Posts:
    1,620
    Edit -> Project settings -> Player
    Select "Android" tab
    There's a checkbox "Auto graphics API".
    If it's checked, try unchecking and moving the APIs around.
     
  5. DaneTheRock

    DaneTheRock

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    I have unchecked the box and tried with OpenGLES3/ OpenGLES2 and Vulkan taking the top spot but with no change unfortunately
     
  6. DaneTheRock

    DaneTheRock

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    Bumping this, really need a solution
     
  7. aleksandrk

    aleksandrk

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Posts:
    1,620
    Which quality level did you edit?
    The default one is highlighted with green.
     
  8. DaneTheRock

    DaneTheRock

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    That was it! I didn't realize each one had a separated options section. Changed the shadow settings and it's all good!

    Thank you so much, that has been a head scratcher for a while!
     
  9. aleksandrk

    aleksandrk

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Posts:
    1,620
    You're welcome :)
     
    javieryj, keepitlikeitwas and Idomama like this.
  10. dradb

    dradb

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Posts:
    75
    Thank you! I've been tearing my hair out over this for a couple of days. I'd built a small test app that had an identical setup to my very big main app. Both were set for performance. I could not understand why my main app had no shadows. This fixed it.

    Now that I have it working, should I really be using something like the "Dynamic Shadow Projector" on mobiles?
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2019
unityunity