Search Unity

No shadows in baked static objects

Discussion in 'Global Illumination' started by Nicolas-Reynoso, Apr 9, 2019.

1. Nicolas-Reynoso

Nicolas-Reynoso

Hi! im new with baked lightning and im having some problems.
    I use subtractive ligthing mode. I want static object to have baked ligthing and shadows. I want some non-static objects (player, enemies) to have realtime ligthing.

Everything works perfect, but i only can see shadows from non-static objects. Static objects dont cast shadows in big terrain map. In a small/test terrain map they cast a very weak shadow if the object is big.

If i change the static obj to non-static, shadows appears again. ShadowsNoShadows.jpg

Weak shadows on big objects and small terrain only
    weakshadows.jpg
    Im doing something wrong? i appreciate any help, love the performance increase with baking lighting, i want to keep learning.
    Sorry for my bad english, not my native lenguage.

2. kristijonas_unity

kristijonas_unity

Unity Technologies

Hello! Lightmap resolution is way too low for sharp baked shadows. Try increasing the lightmap resolution either on the terrain itself, or in the lighting settings. Keep in mind that increasing terrain resolution will eat up your lightmap space really quick.

Another thing to consider, is that you will still not get any shadowing on your grass. Since the grass in your scene is not lightmap static, it will not receive any baked shadows.

For large scenes with terrain it is better to use Mixed light sources + shadowmask or baked indirect. In that case, you would have realtime shadows and baked indirect GI. Since indirect GI does not need high lightmap resolution to be believable, you would avoid cranking the lightmap resolution too high, which would in turn save you baking time and lightmap space.

3. Nicolas-Reynoso

Nicolas-Reynoso

Thanks for your answer!
    Having no shadows on grass is fine, i just want baked static shadows on terrain and maybe other static objects.